Related Guides
Databases
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969The British Government's Confidential Print documents cover a broad sweep of history from c. 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan.
- Making of the Modern WorldUse this source to find primary sources and full text books from the 1460-1850 period with focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.
- Policy Commons and North American City ReportsSearch millions of documents on thousands of topics from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs as well as from North American cities. Featured topics include Black Lives Matter, COVID-19, Climate Change, Gender Equity, and reports from the 500 largest cities in North America.
- Royal Geographical Society (with the Institute of British Geographers) (Wiley Digital Archives) This link opens in a new windowAccessible through the Wiley Digital Archives platform. Search geographical research going back 200 years, including Maps, Atlases, Charts & Plans; Expedition Reports; Fieldnotes, Correspondence & Diaries; Grey Literature; Photographs, Artwork and Illustrations; Journal Manuscripts; Photographs; Proceedings, Lectures, and Ephemera.
Middle East Environmental News and Reports
- Jadaliyya Environment PageA monthly roundup of news articles and other materials related to environmental issues in the Middle East.
- Newsbank Report on Middle East EnvironmentA collection of news articles on the environment in the Middle East from the past 2 years. Be sure to click the More link.
- Middle East and North Africa NewsFind both current and historical news.
Key Handbooks and Books
Powering Empire by ISBN: 0520973933Publication Date: 2020-03-24Argues that the Age of Empire was driven by coal, and the Middle East--as an idea--was made by coal. Focusing on the flow of British carbon energy to the Middle East, On Barak excavates the historic nexus between coal and empire to reveal the political and military motives behind what is conventionally seen as a technological innovation. He recounts the carbon-intensive entanglements of Western and non-Western powers and reveals unfamiliar resources--such as Islamic risk-aversion and Gandhian vegetarianism--for a climate justice that relies on more diverse and ethical solutions worldwide.
The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Middle-Eastern and North African History by ISBN: 9780191751387Publication Date: 2015-06-09this volume combines thematic and country-based, multi-disciplinary analysis in order to reconsider half a century of scholarship and to critically examine the defining processes and structures of historical developments from Morocco to Iran and from Turkey to Yemen over the past two centuries. Chapter 1 is Environmental History.
The Routledge Handbook on the Middle East Economy by ISBN: 9781351596664Publication Date: 2021-07-08Provides an overview of the principal economic problems, policies and performances relating to the countries in the Middle East and North Africa region. Topics include Growth and development in comparative perspectives; Labour force and human development; Natural resources, resource curse and trade; Poverty, inequality and social policy; Institutions and transition to democracy; corruption, conflict and refugees.
Middle East and North Africa by ISBN: 9789004444454Publication Date: 2021-01-28Middle East and North Africa: Climate, Culture, and Conflicts - too hot to handle? The volume offers an account of ideas, historical case studies and current debates on climate change and its consequences from perspectives of eco-theology, archeology, history, geography, political science and technology.
Rivers of the Sultan by ISBN: 9780197547274Publication Date: 2021-03-19In the early sixteenth century, a series of military campaigns between the Mediterranean Sea and Persian Gulf brought the entirety of the Tigris and Euphrates rivers under Ottoman control. This book offers a history of this rare political unification of the longest rivers in West Asia and its impact on the Ottoman state, provincial society, and the environment.
Digital Images for Middle Eastern studies
- Al-Mashriq - PhotographsAl-Mashriq is an online repository for cultural multimedia information from the Levant in general and Lebanon in particular.
- AGSL Digital Photo Archive - Asia and Middle EastOver 28,000 images from the holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library focusing on the countries of Asia and the Middle East.
- Arab Image Foundation (AIF)AIF's collections focus on photographic objects and documents from and related to the Middle East, North Africa and the Arab diaspora
- ARTstorARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology.
- Casselman Archive of Islamic and Mudejar Architecture in SpainThis collection from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries contains over four thousand color slides and black and white photographs of medieval Spain taken by the late Eugene Casselman (1912-1996) during his thirty years of travel throughout the Iberian peninsula.
- Imagine: the Israel Mueseum Searchable Collections DatabaseHighlights of the Archaeology, Fine Arts, Jewish Art and Life collections.
- Israel National Photo CollectionA kind of "photographed history book" of the state of Israel that includes photographs of events and people in the life of the country as documented by the Government Press Office photographers.
- Lebanese Photo BankThis collection houses the works of 63 photographers and more than 150,000 photographs and comprises fifty years of photographs, from the country’s birth in 1940s to 2008.
- Library of Congress: Abdul-Hamid II CollectionThis collection portrays the Ottoman Empire during the reign of one of its last sultans, Abdul-Hamid II. The 1,819 photographs in 51 large-format albums date from about 1880 to 1893.
- Library of Congress: Matson Photograph CollectionCollection of historical images of the Middle East. The majority of the images depict Palestine (present day Israel and the West Bank) from 1898 to 1946.
- The Middle East in Early Prints & PhotographsThis collection from New York Public Library includes over 5,000 images showing the Middle East through early prints and photographs.
- Middle East Photograph ArchiveThe Middle East Photograph Archive at the University of Chicago consists of over 400 photographic prints dating primarily to the second half of the nineteenth century.
- The Oriental Institute Photographic ArchivesA sampling of images documenting the activities of the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago from 1892 to the present in the Near East.
- ProjectSAVE: Armenian Photograph Archives, Inc.This project is preserving Armenian History through photographs. The site includes a sample of the Armenian historical photos in their collection.
- The Rev. Claude L. Pickens, Jr. Collection on Muslims in ChinaImages of Muslims and Christian missionaries working in Western China in the 1920s and 1930s form the core of this collection from Harvard University.
- Royal Geographic Society Picture LibraryThe RGS holds collections of photography, artwork and mapping which records over 500 years of travel, people, place, and geographical discovery from the 1480's to the present day.
- TIMEA (Travelers in the Middle East Archives)A body of literature and images documenting travels during the 18th, 19th and 20th century of Europeans and Americans. Collections include historical maps and plans, and other visual materials.
- World Digital LibraryCreated by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Research and Writing Assistance
- Tutorial: Using citations to find journal articles and booksLearn how to use citations in journal articles to identify other relevant articles and books and use Libraries Search to find them.
- Citation Guides and Style ManualsA guide to different citation styles.
- Peer Research ConsultantsMake an online 30 minute appointment for one-on-one peer assistance with your research. Get help with researching your topic, finding sources, citing sources and more. Peer Research Consultants can also help you get started with faculty-sponsored research.
- Academic Success Centers
The Academic success centers website provides you with a variety of services to help you succeed at the University. Find peer tutors for your courses, academic skills coaching, or get support with writing, research, or media projects. - Center for WritingThey take walk-ins, and both in-person and online appointments. Also find online quick help and resources for writers on the writing process, common assignments, grammar, punctuation, style and more. Put the polishing touches on your work.
- Tutorial: What are citations?Understand what citations are, why they are important, and how to create and use them.
Last Updated: May 15, 2023 3:41 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/HIST/3514W