Search for books, journals, articles, media and more.

Finding Market & Industry Information

The following databases are key resources for finding information on science and technology-related industries and markets. Keep in mind that you may need to think a little more broadly when looking for information on an industry (e.g., adhesives rather than pressure-sensitive adhesives). 

For help finding other types of business- and market-related information, contact Caroline Lilyard or see the Business Reference website.

Finding Background Information

Encyclopedias and handbooks are a good way to get a broad overview and context for a subject and helpful for deciphering research articles. References at the ends of articles lead you to further relevant information.

Other helpful sources of background information are review articles and trade magazines. You can find those using databases like SciFinder and Compendex and limiting by Document Type or Treatment Type.

Finding Materials Property Data

Finding Materials Pricing Information

Chemical and materials pricing information is quite valuable and not readily available to academic institutions. See the Chemical Engineering Economics guide, particularly on Bulk Chemical Prices, from the University of Texas for general advice. We subscribe to many of the resources listed so use MNCAT Discovery to access them rather than the links listed on the UT page.

Metal Prices and Indexes

Finding Research Articles in Materials Science

Articles are the primary way scientists communicate research results. Use an article index or database to find articles on your topic; the citation includes article information like article title, author, journal name, issue, year, and the abstract. 

When you are starting to delve into a new subject, review articles are your best friends. Most article databases will allow you to limit your search just to this type of publication or document. The long reference lists in review articles are also a good way to identify key articles.

Finding Patents

Patents are a good source for technical detail, research data, and drawings. Most information in patents is not published elsewhere. Companies often publish in the patent literature before, or instead of, journals. 

Off-Campus Access to Library Journals & Databases

In addition to going through links on the library website, we have 2 other ways to access resources from off-campus.

Last Updated: Aug 1, 2020 2:56 PM