Research Guides: Business: Business Homepage

Remote Help & Contact

Have business research questions? Ask us!

Contact the business librarians at busref@umn.edu for research help

Looking for in-depth help? Let's meet!

Schedule an appointment for a virtual meeting with a business librarian @ calendly.com/busref

Business News

Create personal subscription accounts and access full-text articles.

Frequently Used Databases

Business Source Premier
IBIS World (Business)
Statista This link opens in a new window
PitchBook
Each user must create a personal account while on campus using their valid @umn.edu e-mail address. Individual accounts must be reset every year on June 30th. Detailed instructions on how to create a personal account are available at: libguides.umn.edu/pitchbook

Walk in users please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access. Walk-in Guest Users login in at: https://www.pitchbook.com

Downloads set at 10/day and 25/month per user; resets monthly. All data and content available in PitchBook except Morningstar equity research

Faculty requiring larger data downloads may contact the library for assistance. Forward Pitchbook faculty download requests busref@umn.edu.
S&P Capital IQ (with access to Aftermarket Research)
An Excel plugin feature provides powerful analytic capability.
UMN affiliated users will create an individual account through a self-registration process. Follow the steps after selecting from the link above. To use the Excel plug-in feature, please log in to the Virtual Private Network (VPN). Information on VPN is available at Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Faculty who wish to use this tool for a class may request a batch class registration. Please contact Mary Schoenborn (hawki003@umn.edu) to request this access.

Videos & Tutorials

Explore user guides and how-to video tutorials for specialized business databases

Business Homepage

Business Resources Portal

Access databases with specialized business content from the subject research guides below.

Company Information
Find company directories and profiles, financial information and ratios, supply chain and procurement, along with analyst and equity reports.
Industry Information Sources
Find industry overviews and reports that include forecasts, market trends, key players, financial ratios and benchmarks, SWOT analysis, and information on industry conditions.
Market research databases
Find market research reports that provide research on on market size, share, and other emerging market trends along with consumer product intelligence, brand strategies, consumer demographics and surveys.
Business news and scholarly articles
Find article databases and news aggregates for information from thousands of popular press magazines, business publications, academic journals, and newspapers. Articles are available as PDFs, text versions, and some individual subscriptions.
Business and economic statistics
Find corporate data on financials, ownership, and executive information, business and economic data for Minnesota, economic time series data sets, along with other government economic and political risk data.
Global Business Sources
Find country statistics and economic development sources, information on business environments and operations, cultural aspects of international business, and additional resources for industry and company profiles.

Library News

Find information about newly acquired databases and other library materials to explore.

MarketsandMarkets provides detailed niche market research reports on current trends and industries; MarketsandMarkets logo including but not limited to: AI, Big Data & Analytics, Blockchain, IoT, Nanotechnology, and Wearables. Covered industries include Aerospace & Defense, Automotive, Banking, Agriculture and more.

The Conference Board reports on key issues in business management and economics. Focus areas include: The Conference Board logo Economic Development, Strategy and Finance, Governance Issues, and Human Capital. Economic datasets include historical data for key economic indicators.

S&P CapIQ PRO - ESG and Panjiva
Added to Capital IQ (Standard & Poors). ESG data and rankings are used for finance/investment analysis, informs climate and environmental risk, and addresses DEI related questions through the data on corporate governance. Panjiva is a database of global suppliers, manufacturers, and trade professionals. Contact busref@umn.edu for access.

Elgar Online UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)
Elgar is a signatory to the UN's Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) Publishers Compact*. On the ElgarOnline platform find an ebook collection that relates to the themes of the 17 goals. The collection includes scholarly monographs, research handbooks and reference titles. Access includes DRM free, perpetual access for unlimited users making these materials ideal for teaching and research.

Mergent Bond Record (in Mergent Archives)
Mergent’s Bond Record offers a comprehensive view on corporate, government, municipal, industrial development/environmental control revenue and international bonds, plus structured finance and equipment trust issues, medium-term notes, convertible issues, preferred stocks and commercial paper issues. Coverage is from 2004 to 2020.

Events

The Toaster Innovation Hub Events

Carlson School of Management Events

Humphrey School of Public Affairs Events

Career Events from the UMN Career Services Administration

Find information on the upcoming virtual career fairs, resumé & cover letter drop-in hours, & company hosted information sessions.

Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 3:31 PM