Need some help?
Librarian
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
PubMed search
Eight Steps Of the Research Process
¢Define and develop your topic
¢Do an initial search for background information
¢Conduct a literature search
¢Read and evaluate the information you find
¢Make notes
¢Write your paper (and revise, revise, revise)
¢Cite your information sources
¢Proofread
Resources
University Library Research Tutorials
Tutorials that will help you save time! Learn how to:
Tips to Make Collaborative Research & Writing Successful
- Pre-writing Process
- Use the right collaboration tools such as Google Docs, Microsoft 365 or Dropbox.
- Brainstorm together to ensure you all are in agreement about the direction of the project.
- Planning & logistics
- Assign roles & writing tasks, such as who will research which portions of the assignment, who will write which portions and who will serve as the proofreader or editor.
- Choose how/where the writing takes place. Decide if you will meet as a group to do the actual writing or assign portions of the writing and work independently on those portions.
- Set and keep deadlines for drafts. For example, a deadline may be set for the initial draft of each author’s portion of the project. Next a deadline is then set for putting it all together, and final draft and then proofreading/editing it.
- Research/locating sources of information
- Decide on how you will find information sources (databases, library catalog, etc.) and who will look into what types of sources -- primary, secondary or tertiary sources.
- Who will read and process the information found? This task may be done by all members or divided up amongst members so that each person becomes the expert in one area.
- Drafting and writing
- Be sure that everyone agrees on the central ideas of the paper.
- Talk about how the writing session should go BEFORE you get started.
- Get all of the ideas down on "paper" in a rough form before discussing exact phrasing.
- Revising, editing and proofreading
- Tackle revising as a group.
- If your group has drafted parts of the document separately, merge your ideas together into a single document first, then focus on meshing the styles.
- Revise the ideas and structure of the paper before worrying about problems with punctuation, grammar, or word choice. Is the information presented in a logical order? Do the transitions between sections connect the ideas effectively? Does the paper sound like it was written by one writer from start to finish?
- Proofreading: Check for typos, spelling errors, punctuation problems, formatting issues, and grammatical mistakes. Reading the paper aloud by group is a very helpful strategy at this point.
Primary and Secondary Sources in Historical Research
History sources are classified into two major categories: primary and secondary sources.
Primary sources, (i.e. the "raw materials") are those items that were written or recorded during the time period you are researching. The most common primary sources are written documents, such as letters, diaries, newspaper articles or government documents. But primary sources can also include photographs, paintings, sculpture, architecture, oral interviews, statistical tables, and even geography. In the case of funeral history, this may include eulogies, music, memorials, obituaries, or gravestones.
Secondary sources are those based on or about the primary sources. They generally include history books (monographs) and academic (scholarly) articles.
Tertiary sources are the next step removed from secondary sources. They usually summarize or synthesize the research found in secondary sources. Textbooks and reference books are tertiary sources, for example encyclopedias, handbooks or historical dictionaries are considered tertiary sources. Tertiary sources are often a good place to start to get initial background information on a topic, but shouldn't be used as the main source of information for your paper.
The Princeton Guide to Historical Research by ISBN: 9780691215488Publication Date: 2021-04-27The essential handbook for doing historical research in the twenty-first century The Princeton Guide to Historical Research provides students, scholars, and professionals with the skills they need to practice the historian's craft in the digital age, while never losing sight of the fundamental values and techniques that have defined historical scholarship for centuries. Zachary Schrag begins by explaining how to ask good questions and then guides readers step-by-step through all phases of historical research, from narrowing a topic and locating sources to taking notes, crafting a narrative, and connecting one's work to existing scholarship. He shows how researchers extract knowledge from the widest range of sources, such as government documents, newspapers, unpublished manuscripts, images, interviews, and datasets. He demonstrates how to use archives and libraries, read sources critically, present claims supported by evidence, tell compelling stories, and much more. Featuring a wealth of examples that illustrate the methods used by seasoned experts, The Princeton Guide to Historical Research reveals that, however varied the subject matter and sources, historians share basic tools in the quest to understand people and the choices they made. Offers practical step-by-step guidance on how to do historical research, taking readers from initial questions to final publication Connects new digital technologies to the traditional skills of the historian Draws on hundreds of examples from a broad range of historical topics and approaches Shares tips for researchers at every skill level
Undergraduate Research in History by ISBN: 9781003024774Publication Date: 2022-03-30Undergraduate Research in History offers a blend of theory and practice for undergraduate researchers in history, relevant to new routines of the digital age. Explaining how research conducted by undergraduate students fits into the broader contexts of the discipline of history and the expanding realm of undergraduate research, this book presents the major phases of substantive research projects, and offers practical advice for work in specific historical areas as well as in interdisciplinary projects. The volume addresses key issues facing researchers, including finding relevant sources, funding research projects, and sharing results with diverse audiences. Supported by dozens of examples of real-world undergraduate research projects, this book is an indispensable reference for any student embarking on historical research and for professors guiding and collaborating with undergraduate researchers.
Patrick Rael, Reading, Writing, and Researching for History: A Guide for College Students (Brunswick, ME: Bowdoin College, 2004)
Copyright 2004 Patrick Rael, Professor of History, Bowdoin College
Article Databases
Health Sciences & other databases that cover death/dying, burial, grief, bereavement, mourning and funerals.
-
Searches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences. Coverage is from the 1940s to the present, Potential search terms to use with this database: bereavement, grief, disenfranchised grief; beliefs, cross-cultural comparison; funeral rites, burial
-
CINAHL Ultimate (Nursing & Allied Health)
Covers nursing and allied health journal articles. Potential search to use with this database: all of the terms listed under PubMed with the addition of the following: complicated grief, personal loss, burial practices, cultural values
-
The Morgue attempts to provide students, scholars and researchers with an on-line tool specifically targeted at the literature in the field of Mortuary Science. The database can be searched by author’s name, journal title, article title and subject. The Morgue does not index articles relating to association news, conventions, interviews, features, reader’s forums, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, or briefs.
-
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion Database lists journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some listings link to full text of articles.
-
Potential search terms for this database: bereavement, grief, mourning customs, rites & ceremonies, christen mourning customs, Islamic mourning customs, Jewish mourning customs
-
Find articles in thousands of psychology journal from 1806 to current year. Potential search terms for this database; bereavement, grief, death rites, religious practices
Historical Databases
Databases that cover historical events, social and economic lifestyles. These databases can be used to find primary sources such as funeral service ads, local obituaries and windows on lifestyles for a particular period in time.
African American Newspapers (1800s)
Search a collection of African-American newspapers dating from the 1800s. It contains large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements, which illustrate the African-American experiences.
Afro-Americana Imprints (1535-1922)
Search printed historic materials such as books, pamphlets and broadsides (early posters) which record African American history, literature and culture. Topics include descriptions of African American life slave and free throughout the Americas, abolitionist movements and much more.
America: history and life provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with over 2,000 journals including all key English-language historical journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Explore primary source documents covering American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. Sources include correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps
Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
Search topics, especially in the humanities and the social sciences, on East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. You can also find citations to journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and more.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life with 80,000+ citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Also known as ProQuest Black Historical Newspapers
African American newspapers that are included in the ProQuest Historical Newspaper collection: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
C19, the nineteenth century index
The most comprehensive and dynamic source for discovering nineteenth-century books, journals, official documents, newspapers, and archives. Includes the Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals.
China, America and the Pacific
Explore an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history.
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, The
Full text of articles taken from issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury, and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. It includes news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements, and biographies. It also includes articles describing other concerns of the time period, such as travel, arts and leisure, sports, and social events.
Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME)
Find published materials, documents, posters, maps, artifacts, audiovisual recordings, and more from the Middle East and North Africa region in English, Arabic, Hebrew, Persian, Turkish and 15 other languages. Time range is -11,000 BCE-present.
Early American Imprints Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
Every book, pamphlet, serial, and other printed work of significance published in America 1639 - 1800 with 36,000 items and 2.4 million page images when complete.
Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1801 through 1819. Contains many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; and congressional, state and territorial resolutions.
Everyday Life and Women In America
Offers primary sources on women in America, from the 1800s to the 1920s. Primary sources include monographs, broadsides, pamphlets, rare books, and periodicals. Themes include domestic life, literature, agriculture, race, religion, fashion, and politics.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters is a collection of digitized primary sources documenting European migration to and colonization of Africa, Australasia, and North America. It also documents the everyday life of settlers in these locations. Though the collection primarily consists of materials produced by British colonists and American settlers, it also includes some materials produced by the Indigenous peoples they displaced.
Harper's Bazaar Archive, 1867-current
Find articles, advertisements, and covers of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867 to the current month.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954
Provides access to a diverse range of records which can be used to explore the history of Jewish communities in the United States of America, from the arrival of the first Jews in New Amsterdam (now New York) in the 17th century right through to the mid-1950s.
John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera
Search rare or unique archival printed materials documenting everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include Entertainment, the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising.
Images and transcripts of the Letter collections of the Paston, Stonor, Plumpton, Armburgh and Cely families from 15th century England. Letter topics include trade, warfare, arranging advantageous marriages, arguments between parents and children, matters of inheritance, births and deaths, estate management, legal disputes, domestic finances, women and their role in the family and everyday social and domestic life.
Full-page, digital archive of the New York Times. The archive runs from 1851 to 4 years ago. Search and view images of articles, advertising, photos, and more (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers).
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Search primary source collections of the nineteenth century (1800s) with books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Topics include British politics, theater and music; European literature, Asian exploration, photography, and more.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Search old editions major U.S. newspapers and the Times of India. Papers include the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Other titles include the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Christian Science Monitor, Jewish Advocate, the Jewish Exponent, Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, South China Morning Post, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Historical and primary documents on popular entertainment in the nineteenth (1800s) and early twentieth centuries (early 1900s) including topics such as "Moving pictures, optical entertainments, and the advent of cinema"; "Optical delights" ; "Music hall, theatre, and popular entertainment" features material on music halls, pleasure gardens, exhibitions, scientific institutions, variety and vaudeville, and spectacles such as firework displays and ballooning; "Circuses, sideshows, and freaks" focuses on the world of traveling entertainment ; "Spiritualism, sensation, and magic" explores the relationship between the popularity of Victorian magic shows and conjuring tricks and the emergence of sances and psychic phenomena.
An archival research resource comprised of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
WRD contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, to give estimates at multiple dates for each of the world's religions for the period 1900 to 2050.
19th Century British Pamphlets
Also known as JSTOR 19th Century British Pamphlets, Nineteenth Century British Pamphlets
More than 26,000 digitized pamphlets from collections in seven universities in the UK, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of 19th century Britain. Also includes some periodicals from 17th and 18th centuries.
Discover 204,731 images, maps, manuscripts, video, audio, and more. UMedia provides open access to digitized materials from across the University of Minnesota.
Selected Books
Death in the Early Twenty-First Century by ISBN: 9783319523644Publication Date: 2017-07-28Focusing on tradition, technology, and authority, this volume challenges classical understandings that mortuary rites are inherently conservative. The contributors examine innovative and enduring ideas and practices of death, which reflect and constitute changing patterns of social relationships, memorialisation, and the afterlife. This cross-cultural study examines the lived experiences of men and women from societies across the globe with diverse religious heritages and secular value systems. The book demonstrates that mortuary practices are not fixed forms, but rather dynamic processes negotiated by the dying, the bereaved, funeral experts, and public institutions. In addition to offering a new theoretical perspective on the anthropology of death, this work provides a rich resource for readers interested in human responses to mortality: the one certainty of human existence.
Death and Funeral Practices in Russia by ISBN: 9781003153672Publication Date: 2021-11-18Built on original ethnographic research conducted by the author, this book offers a highly detailed and comprehensive account of funerary history and practices in Russia. Death and Funeral Practices in Russia provides rich data on mortality statistics, trends in the funeral market in contemporary Russia, the legal framework of funerary practices, as well as regional and demographic disparities. The first part of the book presents an in-depth account of the historical development of funerary practice in Russia, charting the emergence and evolution of funeral traditions and customs in the country from the Russian Empire to the collapse of the USSR. Having explored the wider historical context surrounding funerary culture in Russia, the second part of the book explores the key features of the funeral industry in post-Soviet times, highlighting critical changes and areas of continuity. Topics explored include the death care industry in Russia, the key features of the typical funeral in the country, cemetery and crematorium provision, the technicalities and legalities of burial and cremation, and the illegal practices within the funeral market.
The Evolution of the British Funeral Industry in the 20th Century by ISBN: 9781787436299Publication Date: 2018-03-28The Evolution of the British Funeral Industry in the 20th Centuryexamines the shifts that have taken place in the funeral industry since 1900, focusing on the figure of the undertaker and exploring how organisational change and attempts to gain recognition as a professional service provider saw the role morph into that of 'funeral director'.; As the disposal of the dead increased in complexity during the twentieth century, the role of the undertaker/funeral director has mirrored this change. Whilst the undertaker of 1900 primarily encoffined and transported the body, today's funeral director provides other services, such as taking responsibility for the body of the deceased and embalming, and has overseen changes such as the increasing preference for cremation, the impact of technology on the production of coffins and the shift to motorised transport. These factors, together with the problem of succession for some family-run funeral businesses, have led large organisations to make acquisitions and manage funerals on a centralised basis, achieving economies of scale.
The Oxford Handbook of the Archaeology of Death and Burial by ISBN: 9780199569069Publication Date: 2013-07-24The Oxford Handbook of the Archaeology of Death and Burial reviews the current state of mortuary archaeology and its practice, highlighting its often contentious place in the modern socio-politics of archaeology. It contains forty-four chapters which focus on the history of the discipline and its current scientific techniques and methods. Written by leading, international scholars in the field, it derives its examples and case studies from a wide range of time periods, such as the middle palaeolithic to the twentieth century, and geographical areas which include Europe, North and South America, Africa, and Asia.
Encyclopedia of Social History by ISBN: 9780203306352Publication Date: 1993-12-21A reference surveying the major concerns, findings, and terms of social history. The coverage includes major categories within social history (family, demographic transition, multiculturalism, industrialization, nationalism); major aspects of life for which social history has provided a crucial period.
Death and Bereavement Across Cultures by ISBN: 9781317520931Publication Date: 2015-06-05All societies have their own customs and beliefs surrounding death. In the West, traditional ways of mourning are disappearing, and although Western science has had a major impact on how people die, it has taught us little about the way to die or to grieve. Many whose work brings them into contact with the dying and the bereaved from Western and other cultures are at a loss to know how to offer appropriate and sensitive support. It is a practical guide explaining the religious and other differences commonly met with in multi-cultural societies when someone is dying or bereaved. Describes the rituals and beliefs of major world religions; Explains their psychological and historical context; Shows how customs are changed by contact with the West; Considers the implications for the future The second edition includes new chapters that: explore how members of the health care professions perform roles formerly conducted by priests and shamans can cross the cultural gaps between different cultures and religions; consider the relevance of attitudes and assumptions about death for our understanding of religious and nationalist extremism and its consequences; discuss the Buddhist, Islamic and Christian ways of death.
The Work of the Dead by ISBN: 9781400874514Publication Date: 2015-10-12The meaning of our concern for mortal remains--from antiquity through the twentieth century The Greek philosopher Diogenes said that when he died his body should be tossed over the city walls for beasts to scavenge. Why should he or anyone else care what became of his corpse? In The Work of the Dead, acclaimed cultural historian Thomas Laqueur examines why humanity has universally rejected Diogenes's argument. No culture has been indifferent to mortal remains. Even in our supposedly disenchanted scientific age, the dead body still matters--for individuals, communities, and nations. The book draws on a vast range of sources--from mortuary archaeology, medical tracts, letters, songs, poems, and novels to painting and landscapes in order to recover the work that the dead do for the living: making human communities that connect the past and the future. Laqueur shows how the churchyard became the dominant resting place of the dead during the Middle Ages and why the cemetery largely supplanted it during the modern period. He traces how and why since the nineteenth century we have come to gather the names of the dead on great lists and memorials and why being buried without a name has become so disturbing.
Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience by ISBN: 9781412951784Publication Date: 2009-07-15Death and dying and death-related behavior involve the causes of death and the nature of the actions and emotions surrounding death among the living. Interest in the varied dimensions of death and dying has led to the development of death studies that move beyond medical research to include behavioral science disciplines and practitioner-oriented fields. As a result of this interdisciplinary interest, the literature in the field has proliferated. This two-volume resource addresses the traditional death and dying-related topics but also presents a unique focus on the human experience to create a new dimension to the study of death and dying. With more than 300 entries, the Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience includes the complex cultural beliefs and traditions and the institutionalized social rituals that surround dying and death, as well as the array of emotional responses relating to bereavement, grieving, and mourning. The Encyclopedia is enriched through important multidisciplinary contributions and perspectives as it arranges, organizes, defines, and clarifies a comprehensive list of death-related perspectives, concepts, and theories. Key Features Imparts significant insight into the process of dying and the phenomenon of death Includes contributors from Asia,; Africa; Australia; Canada; China; eastern, southern, and western Europe; Iceland; Scandinavia; South America; and the United States who offer important interdisciplinary and cross-cultural perspectives Provides a special focus on the cultural artifacts and social institutions and practices that constitute the human experience Addresses death-related terms and concepts such as angel makers, equivocal death, end-of-life decision making, near-death experiences, cemeteries, ghost photography, halo nurses, car
Mortuary Science Journals
Select set of Journals in mortuary science and bereavement
| Title | Years |
| American Funeral Director | 1945- |
| Casket & Sunnyside: C & S | 1945-1984 |
| The Director | 1948- |
|
Embalmers Monthly and National Funeral Director |
1945-47, 1956-59 |
| Mid-Continent Mortician | 1944-1973 |
| Morticians of the Southwest | 1955, 1957-1977 |
| Mortuary Management | 1945-1948, 1955- |
| National Funeral Director and Embalmer | 1958-1977 |
| Southern Funeral Director | 1945-1977 |
Citing Sources
Document your sources.
It is important to cite sources used in research for many reasons:
- It shows that you have done the proper or thorough research of your topic by listing the sources of the information in your paper.
- You avoid plagiarism by quoting the words or ideas by other researchers.
- It provides resources to validate your research or as an alternative, the sources can serve as a counterpoint or validation for further research on your topic.
- Allows people to follow up on your research by finding and reading your sources.
- Contributes to future research and scholarship.
Plagiarism occurs when another author's words or ideas are "borrowed" and not acknowledged within a paper. This is considered stealing someone's intellectual property and is a serious offense within the academic community. The best way to avoid plagiarism is to cite your sources, within the body of your paper, known as in-text citations and as part of a bibliography of sources that you consulted for your paper.
You MUST cite:
- Facts, figures, ideas or other information that is not common knowledge.
- Note: if an idea or information comes from another source, even if you put it in your own words (i.e. paraphrasing), you still need to credit the source.
- You do not need to cite accepted common knowledge. Common knowledge is information that the majority of people either know or can find in a number of sources. Common knowledge is generally factual information that is beyond dispute, such as the periodic table, historical dates, country capitals, however, if you are not sure the information you are using is common knowledge, then cite it.
- Ideas, words, theories or exact phrases that another author used in their publications.
- The rule of thumb is if you are quoting three or more consecutive words from a source, you need to cite the source and put the words/phrase into quotation marks.
Journal article citation example (APA style)
Ruin, H. (2017). History and Its Dead. History and Theory, 56(3), 407-417. https://doi.org/10.1111/hith.12029
Zuck, L.H. The changing meaning of the funeral in Christian history. Pastoral Psychol 8, 17–26 (1957). https://doi.org/10.1007/BF01841221
Book citation example:
Oermann, M. H. (2024). Writing for publication in nursing (Fifth edition.). Springer Publishing Company, LLC. https://doi.org/10.1891/9780826177865
Book chapter example:
Aron, L., Botella, M., & Lubart, T. (2019). Culinary arts: Talent and their development. In R. F. Subotnik, P. Olszewski-Kubilius, & F. C. Worrell (Eds.), The psychology of high performance: Developing human potential into domain-specific talent (pp. 345–359). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000120-016
Archival documents examples:
Tomlinson, J. T. (1942, April 17). [Memorandum to the deputy minister, J. H. McKechnie]. Saskatchewan Department of Education fonds (Ed. Addendum, file 49, Métis schools). Saskatchewan Archives Board, Regina, Canada.
Frank, L. K. (1935, February 4). [Letter to Robert M. Ogden]. Rockefeller Archive Center (GEB Series 1.3, Box 371, Folder 3877), Tarrytown, NY, United States
[Photographs of Robert M. Yerkes]. (ca. 1917–1954). Robert Mearns Yerkes Papers (Box 137, Folder 2292), Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library, New Haven, CT, United States.
APA Style
APA Style (American Psychological Association)
- Books
- Concise rules of APA style
1. Concise and bias-free writing -- 2. Punctuation, spelling, and capitalization -- 3. Italicizing and abbreviating -- 4. Numbers, metrication, and statistics -- 5. Tables -- 6. Figures -- 7. Footnotes and appendixes -- 8. Quotations, reference citations in text, and reference list -- 9. Reference examples. - Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
- The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th edition) is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals in psychology, sociology, business, economics, nursing, social work, and justice administration.
- Writing with style: APA style made easy
- Introduction: the laypeople and you -- Some generalizations about how psychologists write -- Preparing the introduction section and the literature review paper -- Preparing the method section -- Preparing the results section -- Preparing the discussion section -- Preparing the abstract -- Preparing the references section -- Preparing a title page and formatting your manuscript -- Grooming tips for psychology papers -- Preparing a presentation -- Wrapping it up.
•
- Introduction: the laypeople and you -- Some generalizations about how psychologists write -- Preparing the introduction section and the literature review paper -- Preparing the method section -- Preparing the results section -- Preparing the discussion section -- Preparing the abstract -- Preparing the references section -- Preparing a title page and formatting your manuscript -- Grooming tips for psychology papers -- Preparing a presentation -- Wrapping it up.
- Concise rules of APA style
- Internet Resources
- American Psychological Association (APA) style examples
- Monash University
- APA Format Citation Guide
- Mendeley.com
- APA Formatting And Style Guide (7th ed.)
- OWL Online Writing Lab, Purdue University.
- APA Quick Citation Guide
- Penn State University Libraries
- Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
- From the American Psychological Association.
This tutorial is designed for those who have no previous knowledge of APA Style®. It shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.
- From the American Psychological Association.
- Bow Valley College Guide to APA Style
- Bow Valley College, California. Covers all aspects of APA style. Includes online tutorials and a set of FAQs
- Paper Format (APA Style)
- From APA.org - covers title, margins, line spacing, headers and more.
- How to Write a Paper in APA Format
- From VeryWellMind.com
- Student Paper Format - APA Style
- From Towson University
- American Psychological Association (APA) style examples
Additional Resources
Library Guides
- Mortuary Science
- Covers the activities associated with the physical burial of the dead.
- Literature Searching
- Overview and tips on how to conduct a literature search.
- Research Toolkit
- Resources, tips, guidelines and tutorials to help you through the research process.
- Citing Sources
- Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources in the Health Sciences
- Sources are considered primary, secondary, or tertiary depending on the originality of the information and how close they are to the source of information.