Related Guides
Librarian
Getting Started
This page has databases for finding news articles for your course. Use the tabs on the left to find resources to help you evaluate the sources you read.
Questions? Need help?
- Contact Jenny McBurney, Political Science Librarian (jmcburne@umn.edu).
- Or, for immediate help, click on the "24/7 Chat" button at the top of any Library website to talk to a librarian right away.
Law Library Course Guide
UMN Law Library’s Treaty Research Guide
- For questions about international law, contact the International Law Librarian, Loren Turner
Major Databases & Resources
- Oxford Public International LawOxford Public International Law is one of the 8 available subjects in the Oxford Bibliographies. Here you can find scholarship across a wide-variety of subjects with entries that read like annotated bibliography and encyclopedia entries.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies This link opens in a new windowSearch all aspects of International Studies from theory and pedagogy to policy and practice, from identities, sexuality, and human rights to qualitative and quantitative methods, and more.
U.S. News & Magazines - Databases
- Access World NewsFull-text news from over 9,000 news sources in the U.S. and international newspapers, major wire services, and hundreds of local broadcasting outlets and blogs. There are over 100 Minnesota sources. Mostly English language news coverage with some 200 titles in Spanish, French, Afrikaans and other languages.
- MegaFILESearch for articles from journals, magazines, and news sources on any topic. A combined search of Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
- FactivaSearch millions of newspapers, business magazines, and newswires with international and foreign language coverage with all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
- MasterFile CompleteSearch magazines, with a small number of journals and newspapers, covering a broad range of disciplines and topics. Includes photos and multimedia.
- NewsbankSearch local, regional, and national newspapers from around the US and the world. Also historical documents from the US. Search by topic or sub-collection.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
- Regional Business NewsRegional Business News offers full text coverage for regional business publications; Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated daily.
Major U.S. Newspapers & Magazines by Title
- Financial Times (FT.com)News, analysis and comment from the Financial Times, a leading global business publication. Current students, faculty, and staff must register and create personal accounts using University of Minnesota e-mail addresses at the link above.
- New York Times (1980 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of the New York Times to present day. Does not include photos, illustrations, ads, wire stories, or other page-image level access. (via ProQuest Newsstream)
- Minneapolis Star Tribune (1986 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from the recent issues of the Star Tribune. Does not include wire stories, ads, photos, or other non-textual article content from the paper. (via ProQuest Newsstream). Note: There is a one-day embargo on content; article counts for recent issues may be initially incomplete, but increase as the publisher provides access to finalized print content in daily feeds to ProQuest.
- Wall Street Journal (1980 to present)Full-text coverage of the Journal - a business newspaper with extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments, and companies - to present day. Does not include photos, illustrations, ads, wire stories, or other page-image level access. (via ProQuest Newsstream)
- Wall Street Journal (WSJ.COM) This link opens in a new windowGet WSJ.com subscription through the library. Sign up for a personal account at the link above. Access to the articles, photographs, charts, podcasts, videos and other premium content available on the WSJ.COM website back to the 2010. Mobile app access is included in the subscription.
- Washington Post (1987 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from the recent issues of the Post, as well as some online content (blogs, videos) from more recent years. Does not include wire stories, ads, photos or other image-based content from the paper. (via ProQuest Newsstream)
- Foreign PolicyForeign Policy is an American news publication, founded in 1970 and focused on global affairs, current events, and domestic and international policy. The Libraries provide subscription access via the link above or the full catalog record.
- Past Pages: News Homepage ArchiveThe News Homepage Archive is a collection of 3.5 million screenshots from roughly 75 different online news organizations, preserved from 2012 to 2018.
Major Blogs
- Just SecurityAn online forum for the rigorous analysis of U.S. national security law and policy. Their site states that they aim to promote principled and pragmatic solutions to national security problems that decision-makers face. Their Board of Editors includes individuals with significant government experience, civil society attorneys, academics, and other leading voices. Just Security is based at the Reiss Center on Law and Security at New York University School of Law.
- IntLawGrrlsVoices on international law, policy, practice. IntLawGrrls was founded in March 2007 by Diane Marie Amann as a blog authored by women who teach and work in international law, policy and practice. IntLawGrrls aims to give voice to women scholars, lawyers, policymakers, leaders, activists, on issues related to international law, policy and practice, from arbitration to human rights to trade, among other topics of expertise.
- EJIL: Talk!The Blog of the European Journal of International Law. It is intended to complement EJIL with short, incisive, well-researched pieces.
- Opinio JurisOpinio Juris is a blog dedicated to informed discussion of international law by and among academics, practitioners and legal experts. The blog was founded in 2005 by three legal scholars: Chris Borgen (St. John’s University); Peggy McGuinness (St. John’s University); and Julian Ku (Hofstra). Kevin Jon Heller (University of Amsterdam) joined the following year. The contributors aim to describe and analyse international law in areas of controversy and ambiguity.
- LawfareA blog focused on how actions taken or contemplated to protect the nation interact with the nation’s laws and legal institutions. It was started in 2010 by Benjamin Wittes, Robert Chesney, and Jack Goldsmith. The blog is subtitled "Hard National Security Choices."
- Monkey CageThe Monkey Cage states that their mission is to connect political scientists and the political conversation by creating a compelling forum, developing publicly focused scholars, and building an informed audience. NOTE: This blog requires a Washington Post subscription, so once you have identified specific articles you are interested in, to get the full-text, search for the article titles via the library database Proquest Global Newsstream.
- War on the RocksA platform for analysis, commentary, debate and multimedia content on foreign policy and national security issues through a realist lens. The sites states that it features articles and podcasts produced by an array of writers with deep experience in these matters: top notch scholars who study war, those who have served or worked in war zones, and more than a few who have done it all.
- ForeignAffairs.comSince its founding in 1922, Foreign Affairs has been a forum for discussion of American foreign policy and global affairs. It is now a multiplatform media organization with a print magazine, a website, a mobile site, various apps and social media feeds, an event business, and more. Foreign Affairs is published by the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), a non-profit and nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to improving the understanding of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs through the free exchange of ideas.
- Duck of MinervaA blog focused on world politics from an academic perspective. It was founded in 2005 by Dan Nexon, and later joined by Patrick Thaddeus Jackson (PTJ) and Rodger Payne. Current core contributors teach at a number of different institutions, including (but not limited to) American University, Hobart & William Smith College, Mount Holyoke College and the Five Colleges, Inc., Reading University, the University of Louisville, the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, and the University of Missouri-Columbia.
- Articles of WarArticles of War is the new digital publication of the Lieber Institute for Law & Land Warfare at West Point. The Lieber Institute’s mission is to foster a deeper understanding of the complex and evolving relationship between law and warfare, through global academic engagement and advanced interdisciplinary research, in order to educate and empower current and future combat leaders. The Lieber Institute focuses on research, collaboration, and education in the law of armed conflict.
- Political Violence at a GlanceAn online magazine that answers questions on the most pressing problems related to violence and protest in the world’s conflict zones. The directors, Erica Chenoweth, Christian Davenport, Barbara F. Walter, and Joe Young, state that their goal is to use rigorous research, and simple, straight-forward analysis, to improve policies and practices in ways that help reduce conflict and build lasting peace.
- ASIL InsightsThe American Society of International Law (ASIL) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, educational membership organization founded in 1906 and chartered by Congress in 1950. ASIL holds Special Consultative Status to the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations and is a constituent society of the American Council of Learned Societies. The purpose of ASIL Insights is to provide concise, objective, and timely background for recent developments of interest to the international community.
- International Law in Brief (ILIB)"International Law in Brief (ILIB) is a forum that provides updates on current developments in international law from the editors of ASIL's International Legal Materials."
- ICRC's Humanitarian Law & Policy"The Humanitarian Law & Policy blog is a unique space for timely analysis and debate on international humanitarian law (IHL) issues and the policies that shape humanitarian action. It is a place to identify trends, raise issues, consider future challenges and explore solutions as they pertain to IHL or humanitarian action. We bring together informed academics, practitioners and others interested in engaging in serious, open-minded discussion."
Major Podcasts
- EJIL: The Podcast!Podcast of The European Journal of International Law; related to EJIL: Talk! blog. "The aim of the podcast is to provide another forum for in-depth, expert but accessible discussion of international law issues in contemporary international and national affairs."
- The Lawfare Podcast"The Lawfare Podcast is the weekly audio production of the Lawfare staff in cooperation with the Brookings Institution. Podcast episodes include interviews with policymakers, scholars, journalists, and analysts; events and panel discussions."
- Brussels SproutsPodcast from Center for a New American Security. Hosted by Dr. Andrea Kendall-Taylor and Jim Townsend, this podcast offers small bites on Transatlantic Security, NATO, the EU, Russia, and all things Europe.
- POLITICO Dispatch"Welcome to POLITICO Dispatch, an insider's briefing giving you the updates you need every morning. We take you inside POLITICO, where journalists break news, work sources and pull back the curtain on politics and policy. Fast. Short. Daily." Hosted by Jeremy Siegel and Adrienne Hurst.
- The Global Cable"Welcome to the Global Cable, a brand new podcast at Perry World House at the University of Pennsylvania. In it, we discuss the world's most pressing challenges and the people who work on them! You should listen to this show if you: - Find foreign affairs and international politics interesting. - Want great career advice from experts. - Want to sound smart at your next dinner party." Also available at Google Podcasts.
- Out of Order"Out of Order is a German Marshall Fund podcast about how our world was, is, and will be ordered. The Out of Order podcast brings together experts from the German Marshall Fund of the United States and beyond to talk about politics, economics, technology and everything else that might help us understand our disordered world."
- ASIL's International Law Behind the HeadlinesThe American Society of International Law's podcast is hosted by Catherine Amirfar and Kal Raustiala. It "enlists today's top legal experts in tackling the international legal issues dominating today's headlines."
- Politico's Global Insider"What are the world’s leaders really thinking about? Host Ryan Heath takes you up close and personal with global insiders: from the decision-makers who set policy to the business visionaries who shape the global economy and the activists who remake the world order. Global Insider brings you intimate conversations with the leaders tackling the biggest challenges facing our world — plus the latest whispers from the corridors of Davos and the United Nations. Come for the big ideas — stay for the reality checks."
Video: Finding News Sources
A quick introduction to finding news articles at the University. Video by Cody Hennesy, the UMN Journalism Librarian.
Last Updated: Oct 9, 2024 9:39 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/POL/4881