Resources for finding journal articles
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full TextRILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliography of writings about music featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It covers over one million publications from the early 19th century to the present on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects, enhanced with the full text of more than 200 periodicals.
- Music Index OnlineFind articles from 1979 to the present about music history, forms and types of music, musical instruments from ancient to modern, acoustic, electronic, and computer-produced music. Book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances, first performances, and obituaries are also included.
- Music Periodicals DatabaseFind articles from 350 international music journals, plus the New York Times and the Washington Post. Covers all types of music from classical to modern includes concert and music reviews. Useful for music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
TIP: Like using Google Scholar to search for articles? Use the University Libraries version of this resource to make sure you don't hit a paywall on items available through our many digital databases!
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Primary sources: Composers' letters and contemporary writings
Collections of letters by composers can be excellent primary sources for your MUS 3602W research! The following items are some suggestions, and the Music Library may have additional resources more specific to your project. Contact Music Librarian Jessica Abbazio (jabbazio@umn.edu) for help!
Print books:
Brahms, Johannes. Johannes Brahms: Life and Letters. Ed. Styra Avins. New York: Oxford, 1997.
Digital resources:
- ANNO: AustriaN Newspapers OnlineAustrian newspapers and magazines from the 16th-20th century. Can browse by date, title, and thematic subject.
- British Library Newspapers, Part I-VDigital archive of British newspapers from 1732 to 1950 including national and regional newspapers from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also included in the collection. Contains collections 1-5.
- Illustrated London News Historical ArchiveSearch online access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
- In Mozart's WordsThis annotated database includes correspondence by Mozart and his family, and has been translated into several languages. The publisher of this resource is progressively adding new letters from the approximately 1,400 letter written by Mozart and his family. In Mozart's Words provides easy access to information about people, places, and musical works referenced in the letters, as well as references to background materials like reviews, newspapers, documents, objects, paintings, engravings, and books that will help the researcher gain context. Each record links out to a digitized version of the manuscript item.
- Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineSearch primary source collections of the nineteenth century (1800s) with books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Topics include British politics, theater and music; European literature, Asian exploration, photography, and more.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019Search full text and digital archive of "The Times of London" newspaper for the years 1785-2019. View either a specific article or a complete page with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories.
Resources for streaming audio and digital liner notes
- Naxos Music LibraryOnline collection of recorded music in streaming audio -- primarily classical music, plus smaller collections of world music and jazz.
Note: Users who create/use a personal Playlist account are required to log-in to the Library's Naxos website at least once every 6 months, to guarantee the re-authentication of their account. Accessing NML through the NML app is not considered re-authentication. - Classical Music LibraryClassical Music Library is an extensive collection of recordings with a supplementary reference database that users may search and listen to music delivered to their desktop. Classical Music Library is cross-referenced to a database of supplementary information and features fully licensed recordings, thousands of program notes and composer biographies, advanced searching, and hundreds of recommended playlists themed by genres.
Resources for finding translations of song texts
- IPA SourceInternational Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Resources for finding music-related theses and dissertations
Theses and dissertations represent the cutting-edge of research, and are often great places to find in-depth analysis and citations for other relevant resources. The University Libraries subscription to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses provides full-text access to documents published at Big Ten institutions, and you can use our Interlibrary Loan service to place requests for documents from other institutions using the citation information you find in this database (click the gray box labeled "Thesis" under the "Create a delivery request" heading).
Resources for finding digital scores
- Music Online: Classical Scores LibraryMusic Online: Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.
- A-R Online Music AnthologyClick on the large button that says ‘Click here to enter the A-R Anthology website’ for our site license session to begin. A database of music scores containing vocal and instrumental compositions from antiquity through the nineteenth century. The database has been designed for use in music history classes. Searching criteria include composer, title, genere, language, historical period and language. All selections are available for printing.
Lists of resources by composer: Check out composer bibliographies!
Composer bibliographies, locating in the ML134 call number of the Music Library's reference section, as well as online via Oxford Bibliographies - Music, can be great way to find curated lists of articles, books, and dissertations about specific composers and their works. Visit the Music Library in person to browse the ML134 section (and don't hesitate to ask for help at the circulation desk or from Jessica Abbazio, Music Librarian, at jabbazio@umn.edu if you need it), or browse digital composer bibliographies in Oxford Bibliographies Online:
- Oxford BibliographiesSearch expert commentary and detailed annotated bibliographies to find high quality sources of information in these areas: African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Architecture, Planning and Preservation, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Evolutionary Biology, Geography, Hinduism, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Literary and Critical Theory, Management, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, Urban Studies, Victorian Literature
Find Interdisciplinary Reference Tools and Resources (Dance, Theatre, Art, etc.)
- Oxford Art OnlineThe most comprehensive online resource for all visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Access is limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- ARTstorARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology.
- International Bibliography of Theatre and DanceSearch dance and theater arts journals on topics such as performing arts, ballet, drama, opera, film, and more.
Last Updated: Nov 20, 2023 10:10 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=1084456