Gopher Equity Project
The Gopher Equity Project online training guides you through concepts about equity, power, privilege, oppression, and identity and is important to creating a foundation of equity and inclusion on our campus.
Suggested library research guides
Library research guides bring together article databases, keywords and search tips, online books and other resources around a topic. These guide can be a starting point for your research. Below are a sample of guides or you can explore all library research guides.
Libraries Racial Equity Collections Fund - Spotlight items
by Kat Nelsen Last Updated Jul 24, 2023 161 views this year
Housing, racial covenants, redlining, and segregation - research guide
by Kate Peterson Last Updated Sep 21, 2023 904 views this year
Education disparities, inequality and segregation - Research Guide
by Kate Peterson Last Updated May 16, 2023 56 views this year
Health disparities, health care inequality, and policy - Research Guide
by Kate Peterson Last Updated Jul 5, 2023 65 views this year
Race, white privilege, anti-racism - Research Guide
by Kate Peterson Last Updated Feb 24, 2023 348 views this year
Sample of online books
Below are a selection of online books and readings on the broad topic. We have more online books, journal articles, and sources in our Libraries Search and article databases.
Do your own research: Databases that search journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.
Historic research collections
Umbra Search African American History
A freely available search tool and widget that brings together over 400,000 digitized materials documenting African American culture and history from over 1,000 libraries, archives, and cultural heritage institutions.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
Mapping Prejudice Project
"This research is showing what communities of color have known for decades. Structural barriers stopped many people who were not white from buying property and building wealth for most of the last century.
In Minneapolis, these restrictions served as powerful obstacles for people of color seeking safe and affordable housing. They also limited access to community resources like parks and schools. Racial covenants dovetailed with redlining and predatory lending practices to depress homeownership rates for African Americans. Contemporary white residents of Minneapolis like to think their city never had formal segregation. But racial covenants did the work of Jim Crow in northern cities like Minneapolis.
This history has been willfully forgotten. So we created Mapping Prejudice to shed new light on these historic practices. We cannot address the inequities of the present without an understanding of the past."
Streaming Documentaries and Video
Includes documentary titles such as:
- PUSHOUT: The Criminalization Of Black Girls In Schools - Takes a deep dive into the lives of Black girls and the practices, cultural beliefs and policies that disrupt one of the most important factors in their lives - education.
- Slaying the Dragon - Media Stereotypes of Asian & Asian American Women
- I Am Not Your Negro - An Oscar-nominated documentary narrated by Samuel L. Jackson, it explores the continued peril America faces from institutionalized racism.
- Exterminate All the Brutes - An eye-opening journey through time, offering an incisive look at the history of European colonialism in Africa and the Americas.
- The Mask You Live In - Follows boys and young men as they struggle to stay true to themselves while negotiating America's narrow definition of masculinity.
- Whose Streets? - Told by the activists and leaders who live and breathe this movement for justice, it is an unflinching look at the Ferguson uprising.