Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
Related Guides
Use this guide to assist you with completing your assignments for LING 1705W: World Englishes
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks
The English Language: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198709251Publication Date: 2018In this Very Short Introduction Simon Horobin investigates how we have arrived at the English we know today, and celebrates the way new speakers and new uses mean that it continues to adapt. Engaging with contemporary concerns about correctness, Horobin considers whether such changes areimprovements, or evidence of slipping standards.
The Handbook of World Englishes by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119147275Publication Date: 2019-11-22The Handbook of World Englishes is a collection of articles on the cross-cultural and transnational linguistic convergence and change of the English language.
The Routledge Handbook of World Englishes by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003128755Publication Date: 2020Constitutes a comprehensive introduction to the study of World Englishes. This Handbook discusses how English is operating in a wide range of fields from business to popular culture and from education to new literatures in English and its increasing role as an international lingua franca.
- International Encyclopedia of LinguisticsOnline encyclopedia on linguistics, including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics including connections of linguistics with other disciplines of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.
- Oxford English Dictionary OnlineFull-text of the 2nd ed. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. It also offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains 100 language and subject dictionaries and other reference works, and searches across these resources. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Last Updated: Jan 10, 2024 12:39 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/LING/1705W