Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
Related Guides
Use this guide to assist you with completing your assignments for LING 1705W: World Englishes
Books, Articles, & More
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
TIP: Use the filters on the right to narrow results down. You can specify format (book, articles, etc), date range, language, and much more.
Some sample searches below. Use ADVANCED SEARCH for more options.
- "world englishes" or "global englishes"
- Black English
- "english language" and [name of country/state/region] E.g. "english language" and "canada"
- English language -- Variation
- English language -- Dialects [books only, scroll down list of subtopics]
Article Databases for Linguistics
Tips
- Click "view online," "PDF," or the
button to connect to the full text if we have it. The will also indicate whether a print copy is held in the Libraries. If not available, request the item via Interlibrary Loan. - Contact Brian if you're having trouble finding what you need.
- Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)MAIN DATABASE FOR LINGUISTICS. Search journals in linguistics and language sciences from 1973 to the present including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics in journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteSearch for journal articles on topics such as communication, mass media, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.
- MLA International BibliographyUse the MLA International Bibliography to find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This index has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
-----------------------------
MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
A few eBooks
English in Britain and Overseas - Origins and Development by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780521264785Publication Date: 1994Vol. 5 of The Cambridge history of the English language
English in North America by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780521264792Publication Date: 2001Volume 6 of The Cambridge history of the English language.
The Handbook of World Englishes by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119147275Publication Date: 2019-11-22The Handbook of World Englishes is a collection of articles on the cross-cultural and transnational linguistic convergence and change of the English language.
International English : a guide to varieties of English around the world by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781351756570Publication Date: 20171. Standard English in the world -- 2. English, Australasian, South African and Welsh English -- 3. The pronunciation of North American English -- 4. English and North American English : grammatical, orthographical and lexical differences -- 5. Scottish and Irish English -- 6. West Indian English and English-based creoles -- 7. Lesser-known Englishes -- 8. Second-language varieties of English.
An Introduction to International Varieties of English by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780585441931Publication Date: 2002This study looks at native speaker varieties of English, considering how and why they differ in terms of their pronunciation, grammar, vocabulary and spelling. It shows how the major varieties of English have developed and why similar causes have given rise to different effects.
The Routledge Handbook of World Englishes by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003128755Publication Date: 2020Constitutes a comprehensive introduction to the study of World Englishes. This Handbook discusses how English is operating in a wide range of fields from business to popular culture and from education to new literatures in English and its increasing role as an international lingua franca.
Word from the Mother by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003212423Publication Date: 2021The study presents an overview of past debates on the speech of African Americans, as well as providing a vision for the future. Featuring cartoons which demonstrate the relationship between language and race, as well as common perceptions of African American Language, she explores its contribution to mainstream American English and includes a summary of expressions as a suggested linguistic core of AAL.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 3:07 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/LING/1705W