Modify strategy to other databases
Evidence synthesis methods require authors to search multiple databases, and not all databases accept the same search "syntax." Each individual database requires use of specialized search syntax, and therefore evidence synthesis search strategies must be 'translated' between databases.
The first step is to create and test your search strategy for a primary database, typically one which has a robust thesaurus or controlled vocabulary, e.g., MEDLINE, APA PsycInfo, CINAHL, or CAB Abstracts. When translating between databases, it's necessary to explore the thesaurus of each independently as well as adjust the syntax.
Other databases, such as Scopus or Web of Science Core Collection, do not have a thesaurus. For these you'll want to develop a search strategy which relies on keywords. These can usually be translated from one to another simply by adjusting the syntax.
For example, a search for vitamin D[tiab] in PubMed will show you all citations with the phrase "vitamin D" in the title, abstract, or keywords, but a search for vitamin D[tiab] in Web of Science will not work at all.
MEDLINE (PubMed)
Natural Disasters[Mesh:NoExp] OR Cyclonic storms[mesh] OR earthquakes[mesh] OR humanitarian crisis[tiab] OR humanitarian crises[tiab] OR crisis-affected[tiab] OR natural disaster*[tiab] OR hurricane*[tiab] OR earthquake*[tiab]
Scopus
TITLE-ABS-KEY("natural disaster*" OR cyclone* OR earthquake* OR "humanitarian crisis" OR "humanitarian crises" OR "crisis-affected" OR hurricane* OR cyclone* OR "humanitarian disaster*")
Web of Science
TS = ("natural disaster*" OR cyclone* OR earthquake* OR "humanitarian crisis" OR "humanitarian crises" OR "crisis-affected" OR hurricane* OR cyclone* OR "humanitarian disaster*")