Related Guides
Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
Getting Started
Start with:
- Search the Libraries CatalogFind books, journals, videos, and more that are owned by the University Libraries.
- Libraries SearchKind of like the Libraries version of Google - but searching many of the specialized databases (that we purchase) and more
- Oxford BibliographiesLook for the Biblical Studies and Jewish Studies Bibliographies.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Project MuseSearch for full-text journals in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerialsThe American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion Database lists journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some listings link to full text of articles.
- Religious and Theological AbstractsThis database contains summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals, covering a wide variety of periodical literature including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. It provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.
- ÉCOLE BIBLIQUE ET ARCHÉOLOGIQUE FRANÇAISE DE JÉRUSALEMThe electronic catalogue of the library of the St Stephen’s Priory and the École Biblique et Archéologique Française makes available 440,000 eferences: 80,000 monographs and 1,500 periodical titles (including 217,000 periodical article references. The main areas covered by the collection include: the Bible, the Old Testament, the New Testament, the early Church, the archaeology of the Near East, Greco-Roman antiquity, the Ancient Near East, and oriental, and ancient languages.
- Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Core Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Etc.
- Encyclopaedia JudaicaThis online resource is an updated edition of this lauded work on Judaism and features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
- Encyclopedia of ReligionFind a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life around the world and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
- Anchor Yale Bible DictionaryPrint volumes in Wilson Library.
- Anchor Yale Bible (commentary)Print volumes in Wilson Library.
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2024 5:09 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=1269924