Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
This guide is an in-depth listing of resources on Linguistics available to students and faculty at the University of Minnesota.
Bibliographies
- Oxford Bibliographies: LinguisticsSearch expert commentary and detailed annotated bibliographies to find high quality sources of information in Linguistics.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by Call Number: eBook; also available in printISBN: 9780195139778Publication Date: 2003Online encyclopedia on linguistics, including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics including connections of linguistics with other disciplines of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.
The Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781405194730Publication Date: 2013Covers 27 key areas of the field, including Language Learning and Teaching, Bilingual and Multilingual Education, Assessment and Testing, Corpus Linguistics, Conversation Analysis, Discourse, Cognitive Second Language Acquisition, Language, Policy and Planning, Literacy, and Technology and Language Features over 200 entries on the philosophy and history of applied linguistics and biographies of key applied linguists.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199675128Publication Date: 2014In 3,250 entries the Dictionary spans grammar, phonetics, semantics, languages (spoken and written), dialects, and sociolinguistics. It incorporates entries on key scholars of linguistics, both ancient and modern, summarising their specialisms and achievements.
The Routledge Linguistics Encyclopedia by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780203874950Publication Date: 2010The Routledge Linguistics Encyclopedia is a single-volume encyclopedia covering all major and subsidiary areas of linguistics and applied linguistics.
Key Ideas in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780748626199Publication Date: 2009This book offers introductory entries on 80 ideas that have shaped the study of language up to the present day. Entries are written by experts in the fields of linguistics and the philosophy of language to reflect the full range of approaches and modes of thought. Each entry includes a brief description of the idea, an account of its development, and its impact on the field of language study.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains 100 language and subject dictionaries and other reference works, and searches across these resources. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
More dictionaries and encyclopedias covering Linguistics.
For other dictionaries or encyclopedias covering other topics, search that topic and "dictionaries" or "encyclopedias" as SUBJECTS in ADVANCED SEARCH. For example: "sociolinguistics" and "dictionaries".
Language Reference & Dictionaries
- Atlas of Pidgin and Creole Language Structures (APiCS)Information on 130 grammatical and lexical features of 76 pidgin and creole languages from around the world.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldEthnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages. Our subscription features include: language profiles, classic static country language maps, country profiles, and language family trees (classification).
- GlottologComprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially lesser known languages.
- OLAC Language Resource Catalog SearchFrom the Open Language Archives Community (OLAC), it provides citations and some direct access to information about languages, including details of text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries, and software, sourced from dozens of digital and traditional archives.
- Omniglot: the Online Encyclopedia of Writing Systems and LanguagesA guide to languages, alphabets, syllabaries and other writing systems. Also contains details of many of the languages written with those writing systems and links to a wide range of language-related resources, such as fonts, online dictionaries and online language courses.
- PHOIBLEA repository of cross-linguistic phonological inventory data, which have been extracted from source documents and tertiary databases and compiled into a single searchable convenience sample.
- World Atlas of Language StructuresDatabase of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of 55 authors.
Language Dictionaries
- Oxford English Dictionary OnlineFull-text of the 2nd ed. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. It also offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
For dual foreign language and English dictionaries, search "dictionaries", "english", "language" and the name of the foreign language as SUBJECTS in ADVANCED SEARCH. For example: "dictionaries", "english", "language" "arabic". Also, consult the language research guides.
- Intercontinental Dictionary Seriesdatabase where lexical material across the languages of the world is organized in such a way that comparisons can be made. Historical and comparative studies and theoretical linguistic research can be based on this documentation
Last Updated: Sep 30, 2024 10:53 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/linguisticsadvanced