Has bio-filmographical entries on the main directors and actors, writers, film theorists and critics, etc. from the beginnings to the present day. An appendix includes short introductory essays on specific periods and movements, such as Early Film, Weimar, Nazi Cinema, DEFA, New German Cinema, and German film since unification, as well as on cinematic developments in Austria and Switzerland.
Provides information on more than 150,000 German-language films und 250,000 people associated with the making of those films. Includes Video clips, reviews, and other supplemental information on film-related themes.
Call Number: TC Wilson Library PN1993.5.G3 R417 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Covers mainstream, alternative, and experimental film from 1895 to the present through a chronology, introductory essay, appendix of the 100 most significant German films, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on directors, actors, films, etc.
Citing Wikipedia is generally not acceptable for research papers, however, it is a great starting point to get background information and can lead to scholarly and primary sources. Also, see Academic Use of Wikipedia
Provides accessible definitions of a comprehensive range of genres, movements, world cinemas, theories and production terms. This fully revised and updated book includes new topical entries that explore areas such as film and the environmental crisis; streaming and new audience consumption; diversity and intersectionality; questions related to race and representation; the Black Lives Matter movement; and New Wave Cinemas of Eastern European countries.