Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
This guide is an in-depth listing of resources related to German-language film, TV, and cinema culture available to students and faculty at the University of Minnesota.
Getting Started
Explore databases and resources relevant to research in German-language film, TV, and cinema culture. Use the tabs on the left to find specific types of resources, such as journal articles, books, and reference works
Questions? Need help? Contact Brian Vetruba, European Studies Librarian (bvetruba@umn.edu). You can also schedule an appointment with Brian.
Key Resources for German Film and TV
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Filmportal.deProvides information on more than 150,000 German-language films und 250,000 people associated with the making of those films. Includes Video clips, reviews, and other supplemental information on film-related themes.
- Yale Film Analysis Web SiteProvides an overview of the vocabulary used in film studies and the techniques of cinema and film analysis.
- Oxford Bibliographies Cinema and Media StudiesSearch expert commentary and detailed annotated bibliographies to find high quality sources of information in Film and Media Studies. In particular, see "German Cinema".
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full-TextSearch articles on film and television studies' topics including theory, preservation, restoration, writing, production, cinematography, reviews from "Variety" back to 1914 and more.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals DatabaseInternational Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) inlcudes coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text including complete runs.
Last Updated: Oct 19, 2023 3:55 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/germanfilm