History, Iberian, and Latin American Studies Librarian
Article Databases
Click "view online," "PDF," or the 
button to connect to the full text if we have it. The will also indicate whether a print copy is held in the Libraries. If not available, request the item via Interlibrary Loan.
-
Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
-
America: History and LifeAmerica: history and life provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with over 2,000 journals including all key English-language historical journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
-
Historical AbstractsFind journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
-
JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
-
HeinOnlineHuge legal search tool with full-text of legal journals, legal histories, government documents, state and federal cases, international law and includes coverage of many older legal materials. Contains the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports (Supreme Court) back to 1754.
-
Human Rights Documents OnlineDatabase on international human rights issues with almost 70,000 documents from nearly 700 nongovernmental human rights organizations worldwide, collected since 1980 by Human Rights Internet. They also collect grey literature material from small and large organizations working globally and locally.
-
Left IndexFind left-leaning literature on topics including politics, economics, the labor movement, ecology and environment, women's studies, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.
-
LGBT Magazine ArchiveSearch the full contents of 26 leading LGBT magazines. Covers the history and evolution of myriad aspects of LGBT history and culture, including legal contexts, health, lifestyle, politics, social attitudes, activism, gay rights, and arts/literature.
-
Project MuseSearch for full-text journals in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
-
Trade Catalogues and the American HomeTrade Catalogues and the American Home is a collection of digitized catalogues, pamphlets, trade cards, and other marketing materials originally directed toward the American consumer.
-
Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Find Books & More
-
Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
-
WorldCatFind books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Request items through Interlibrary Loan using the ILLiad link on each item's record. A mobile version of this database is available. Limited to 65 simultaneous users.
TIPS FOR FINDING BOOKS AND BOOK CHAPTERS
- When looking for books and book chapters:
- First, search Libraries Search and/or the Library Catalog which will show what UMN Libraries have.
- If not found, then search WorldCat which includes materials held at other libraries. Click on "Request via Interlibrary Loan" to make a request.
- What is the difference between Libraries Search and the Library Catalog? Libraries Search includes all items in the Library Catalog but it also includes articles. The Library Catalog includes print books, eBooks, DVDs, journals, and other formats but NOT articles.
- With Advanced Searching, you can limit results to a specific language, date range, and more.
- If you can't find a book chapter, you can submit a book chapter request via interlibrary loan. You'll get a PDF scan usually within a week. This is faster than requesting the whole book.
- You can request digital delivery scans of parts of books in UMN Collections. To do so fill out an interlibrary loan/digital delivery request
Last Updated: Jun 4, 2025 4:46 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/historyreproductiverights