History, Iberian, and Latin American Studies Librarian
Primary Source Databases
Below is a list of some of the main primary source databases for history.
- All Primary Source DatabasesList of all primary source databases available to University of Minnesota students, faculty, and staff.
- American History, 1493-1945Explore primary source documents covering American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. Sources include correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps
- History VaultContains historic and archival materials such as digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and other primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Subject areas include NAACP Papers, INS immigration records (1880-1930), Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy (1960-1975), Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Europe and Latin America, Slavery and the Law (1775-1867), Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights, and more.
- Accessible ArchivesUse this database to find primary source materials in American history. The information is from historical periodicals and books, eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
- America's Historical NewspapersIncludes Early American Newspapers Series 1 (1690-1876), 3 (1783-1922), 6 (1741-1922), 7 (1773-1922), and 18 (1825-1879). Spanning two centuries and 40 states, these archives of selective content from historical newspapers are primary sources for researching crucial conflicts from the Civil War to World War I, movements ranging from early states rights to women's suffrage, noteworthy citizens, local events, natural disasters; political campaigns; and the evolution of American culture.
- Anatomy of Protest in America SeriesSearch newspapers and books for information on people, organizations, movements and more involved in protests in America from 1701 through the 1920s.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 and 2The content is drawn from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. Rare and relevant books and newspapers including rare anarchist newspapers are presented in their original form. Includes manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
- Hathi TrustHathiTrust provides access to millions of books and other materials. Full text searching of most books is available and books in the public domain (generally older books) can be freely viewed and/or downloaded. Books still in copyright have more limited access. Users with print-reading disabilities can apply for special access to digitized works by emailing wilsref@umn.edu.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980Hundreds of searchable Spanish newspapers printed in the U.S. during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
- Historical News SourcesGuide to getting articles from The New York Times, and other newspapers
- Historical Statistics of the United StatesUse Historical Statistics of the United States Millenium Edition to find statistics about the United States produced by the United States Census Bureau since 1790 with additions, revisions and analysis by noted social scientists.
- Exploring Race in SocietySearch materials covering important issues related to race in society today. Includes full-text essays, articles, reports, photographs, graphs and charts to provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
- Student ActivismExplore the voices of student activists across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. These primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist.
Finding Primary Source Materials in Library Catalog
Additional resources can be found by searching the University of Minnesota Libraries' Catalog.
Enter the term "sources" as a subject keyword and the keywords for the country, event or topic (e.g. "United States" "great depression" su="sources")
Finding Primary Sources Using the University Archives
The University of Minnesota Archives is the official home for the University's valuable historical documents, collections, data, photographs, publications, and websites. The Archives collections and staff support the information needs of the entire University community and are open to the public, including in-person and remote researchers.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 2:52 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/chicanoparadigms