Why use news sources?

News sources can be considered primary or secondary sources in your research. They can provide multiple points of view about an issue, including a comparison of the United States and international views. You can trace the historical development of subjects over time. You can also get an idea of how non-scholars are discussing a topic or issue. 

Start here:

U.S. News & Magazines Online

Major newspapers & magazines by title

Note: see the Historical News guide for older issues of some of the titles below.

World News Online

Check out the International News guide for a more detailed list of news sources from around the world that are available at UMN.

Digital archives and historical news sources, including newspapers and magazines

America's Historical Newspapers 

 Spanning two centuries and 40 states, these archives of selective content from historical newspapers are primary sources for researching crucial conflicts from the Civil War to World War I, movements ranging from early states rights to women's suffrage, noteworthy citizens, local events, natural disasters; political campaigns; and the evolution of American culture.

Proquest Historical Newspapers 

Search old editions major U.S. newspapers and the Times of India. Papers include the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Other titles include the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

World Newspaper Archive 

World Newspaper Archive is a collection of historical newspapers published in Africa, Latin America, and South Asia throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. It provides excellent coverage of the people, cultures, issues and events that have shaped world history. Additional collections covering other regions will be added over time.

Browse more historical newspapers.

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2021 10:47 AM