Why use maps or GIS data?
Maps and geospatial information are ways to visualize and present data, especially information that is related to a place. It can also help us understand changes to regions over time.
A geographic information system (GIS) is a framework for gathering, managing, and analyzing data related to place, which can help illustrate relationships between data points.
An example of this type of project is the University of Minnesota's Mapping Prejudice project:
- Mapping PrejudiceVisualizing the hidden histories of race and privilege in Minneapolis. This map shows how racial restrictions were embedded in the physical landscape of our community. Using racial covenants in Hennepin County property deeds, this site illuminates how much land was reserved for the exclusive use of white people for most of the twentieth century.
Getting started
Find maps in Libraries search
Use Libraries Search to find the majority of maps in the University's collections.
Find maps at the Borchert Map Library
Located in the Wilson Library, the John R. Borchert Map Library contains the bulk of the University of Minnesota Libraries map and atlas collections and provides assistance finding maps, scanning, and using GIS data.
Find aerial maps with MHAPO (Minnesota Historical Aerial Photographs Online)
MHAPO provides access to over 121,000 digital copies of Minnesota air photos. For a full listing of aerial photographs available in the John R. Borchert Map Library, please see the Aerial Photography page.
Find maps in other map collections
- Science & Engineering Library - Geologic maps and US topographic maps (also available on USGS website)
- Magrath Library - Maps to support the agricultural, biological and environmental sciences
- Natural Resources Library- Maps related to forestry and related topics
- James Ford Bell Library - Early maps from the period 1400-1800 related to the history of European expansion
Find campus and Libraries maps
- Find your way around campus using the interactive campus map
- Find Libraries hours and locations
Citing maps, atlases, and geospatial (GIS) data
Map Library (in Wilson Library)
- Map Library (John R. Borchert)
The Map Library, in Wilson Library, contains and extensive collection of maps, GIS and spatial data computer lab and support, aerial photos and more.
