Why use videos and images?

Images and videos are a dynamic way of presenting information, and they have their own special considerations. We have several resources for media resources, including creation, and we can help with copyright questions

Find videos (DVDs and streaming)

Libraries Catalog to search 10,000+ DVDs, mostly housed in Walter SMART Learning Commons.

List of Streaming Video Collections provides descriptions and links to UMN licensed and freely available online streaming video collections (e.g. dance, theater, nursing, counseling, business, etc.).

Digital Content Library with 300,000 learning objects in image, video, and audio formats from College of Liberal Arts and College of Design.

Find images

ARTStor offers high quality images covering art, architecture and archeology.

UMedia Archive with digital collections of the University Archives and Special Collections including University history.

Images Collections Guides provides UMN licensed and freely available online digital image collections based on subject (e.g. Arts, History, Science, etc.).

Minnesota Digital Library with images, maps and documents from more than 150 of the state's cultural heritage organizations.

Digital Public Library of America has access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.

Are you making a video?

The Libraries offer tools from video cameras to microphones that you can check out, specialized software in Walter, Wilson, Magrath and Health Sciences Libraries in addition to consultation services. For an easy way to record a presentation, try the University of Minnesota’s 1:Button Studios, which are fully automated HD video recording spaces with professional studio lighting and sound equipment. They are set up to record high-quality video projects without any knowledge of lights and cameras. There are nine 1:Button Studio locations on campus, in Wilson, Magrath, and the Health Sciences Library!  The Libraries also offer support for instructors integrating media collections and student created media assignments into their curriculum.

Last Updated: Oct 20, 2021 4:54 PM