Why use music?
Music can be another way of presenting information, with its own considerations. We have several resources for music research, including creation. We have a wealth of music resources for you to use, if you're researching a musician, or a style of music, or you're looking for music to listen to while you're studying.
University Libraries music collection
- Libraries Catalog allows you to search for scores, CDs, audio and video cassettes, and DVDs.
- Limit your search by going to "Advanced Search" and selecting "Score" or "Audio" from the "Material Type" dropdown.
- To search for LPs you'll have to use the card catalog at the Music Library (70 Ferguson Hall).
- Types of scores and how to find them
- Need help? Visit the Getting Started page on the Finding Music Materials Guide for detailed instructions on how to find many different types of resources or contact Jessica Abbazio, Music Librarian, at firstname.lastname@example.org!
Find streaming audio of music performances
- Interested in American musical traditions like country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B and shape note singing? Check out American Music (from Alexander Street Press) and the Database of Recorded American Music.
- Looking for recordings of orchestral performances, chamber music, opera, and more? Classical Music Library and Naxos Music Library are streaming music databases that feature high-quality recordings of performers and groups from all over the world.
- Explore streaming tracks from a wide variety of genres and styles through the Contemporary World Music and Smithsonian Global Sound databases.
- Looking for jazz recordings? Check out Jazz Music Library and Naxos Music Library Jazz.
- Explore more streaming audio databases through the Finding streaming audio page on the Music-Related Databases Guide.
Find online scores and sheet music
- Looking for something that's still protected by copyright? Classical Scores Library and the A-R Music Anthology are great places to start.
- Is the piece you need in the Public Domain? Try IMSLP.org.
- Find more places to access digital scores through the Find digital scores on the Music-Related Databases Guide.
Find streaming video of music performances
- Interested in opera? Met Opera on Demand offers HD video and an archive of streaming audio that stretches back to the 1950s.
- Medici.tv is a great place to find recorded concerts, masterclasses, ballets, and more. They also broadcast live concerts from the Verbier Festival and stages all over the world!
- Naxos Video Library features recordings of concerts, operas, and more.
- Find more streaming video resources through the Music-Related Databases Guide.
Looking for more music-related information and resources?
Visit our list of Music Research Guides for detailed instructions on:
- Finding music materials
- Citing your sources
- Exploring our collections of repertoire for specific instruments and voice types
- Discovering music-related databases
Questions? Need help? Contact Jessica Abbazio, Music Librarian, at email@example.com!
Music Library (in Ferguson Hall)
What's in the Music Library?
We focus on Western classical music and world music, and we have thousands of items you can use for music-related research:
- Books: We have books that you can borrow in print or view online, reference materials that normally stay in the library for everyone to use, and some non-circulating books that are rare and/or fragile.
- Journals: The Music Library offers print and digital access to many different music-specific journals. Visit our Current Periodicals and Bound Periodicals sections to browse in person, or use the University Libraries catalog to search our digital subscriptions.
- Scores: We offer access to thousands of scores for every kind of ensemble - full orchestras to solo performers. We also lend parts for chamber music (groups up to about 10-12 members), but unfortunately don't offer parts for larger ensembles.
- Recordings: Borrow from our collections of over 30,000 recordings - CDs, DVDs, LPs, and more. Most of our audio and video recordings circulate for a period of seven days, but not all materials can leave the library. Check with our staff about what you can check out and take home!
- Special collections and other materials: The Music Library offers some materials on microfilm, as well as other materials that require special handling. You're welcome to use any of these resources, and our Music Library staff will be happy to help you get started.
The Music Library also has some materials on popular music, including scholarly books on popular artists. If you are interested in beginner's guides to learning an instrument, we suggest checking your local public library or searching through interlibrary loan. Please don't hesitate to contact the Music Library staff at firstname.lastname@example.org with any questions about our holdings and how to access these materials.