TIPS: Not finding what you need in our streaming video databases?
The streaming video databases linked below include lots of content, but not everything. If you're not finding what you're looking for, try these other options:
- Search the Music Library's (and the wider University Libraries) DVD collections. See the Tips for searching for physical recordings (CDs, LPs, DVDs, etc. tab of the Finding Music Materials Guide for more information.
- Check the JustWatch site to see if the video/film/documentary you're looking for is available from a commerical streaming service (Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, etc.)
- Try requesting a DVD from another library though Interlibrary Loan. See the Borrow books, scores, and recordings through Interlibrary Loan tab of the Finding Music Materials Guide for instruction on how to get started searching.
Find Streaming Video
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online (AVON) delivers 70,000+ videos, on a range of topics including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Classical Music in VideoThis database collection contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
- Dance in VideoDance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
- Digital Concert HallTo access content, click on "Start Institutional Access" on the homepage. Select the first option to continue access through your browser. Select the second option to create a free account, which allows you to access content via the Digital Concert Hall mobile app. The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. Here you can experience the orchestra performing live at the Philharmonie in Berlin in around 40 broadcasts every year. Just a few days after each broadcast, a recording of the concert is then available to watch in the archive. Also includes music-related documentaries and interviews.
- Docuseek2Find documentaries and social issue films and view online.
- Ethnographic Video OnlineThis collection contains ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork on the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. Access to volume 1 and 4 only
- Medici.tvMedici.tv offers high-definition webcasts and streaming videos from leading music festival. It also offers a video archive of performances by great musicians of the past. Documentaries on performers and composers, educational programs, and master classes are also included.
- Met Opera on DemandUnlimited browsing to more than 450 Met Opera performances. Video playing access is limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Music & Performing ArtsFind streaming audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles including American music, classical, world music, jazz, dance and more.
- Music Online: Opera in VideoThe collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and worldwide stagings of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors.
- Naxos Video LibraryAccess is limited for 5 simultaneous users. A performing arts video library including operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.
- PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new windowPBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition provides access to more than 1,200 streaming videos, including the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS on many topics, including art, science, history, business, and more.
- The Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra Concert LibraryVisit the SPCO's free online Concert Library to watch past performances. As always, you can enjoy SPCO concerts via high-definition video in our online Concert Library anytime, anywhere, completely free of charge.
If you haven’t used the Concert Library in the past, simply create a free account with your email address or sign in via Facebook and you’ll have access to on-demand videos of 17 full concerts and nearly 50 individual pieces. You may also download their free Concert Library mobile apps for Apple and Android devices via the App Store or Google Play.
- Theatre in Video: Volume IWatch hundreds of online videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the worlds most important plays. From Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett including a range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
- UMediaDiscover 161,819 images, maps, manuscripts, video, audio, and more. UMedia provides open access to digitized materials from across the University of Minnesota.
- Visual History ArchiveA fully streaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies from the USC Shoah Foundation of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides, including the Armenian Genocide, the Cambodian Genocide, the Central African Republic Conflict, contemporary antisemitism, the 1994 Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide, and the Nanjing Massacre. Note: only available remotely to UMN users. See Visual History Archive Online (version for non-UMN users).
- Visual History Archive Online (version for non-UMN users)Video collection of primary source testimonies from the USC Shoah Foundation of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides available remotely to non-UMN users. Create an account to access. Only 1,800 videos of the +55,000 are viewable. This is a subset of the full version Visual History Archive for UMN affiliates.
Last Updated: May 24, 2023 11:26 AM