Find information on American-made films between 1893 and 1972. Unique features include the ability to find films by topic and and article reference list for films. Links to library holdings of articles (Find It links).
For films made after 1972, use Film Index International which is also available from the University Libraries.
Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive periodicals, reference materials, books, dance notation, and photographs, including the complete run of Dance Magazine (1927–present).
Includes full texts of plays from across the history of the theatre, ranging from Aeschylus to the present day. Includes non-English-language works in translation, scholarly and critical editions, first night program texts, and critical analysis and contextual information. Critical interpretations, theatre history surveys and major reference works on authors, movements, practitioners, periods and genres are included alongside performance and practitioner texts, acting and backstage guides.
The National Theatre Collections on Drama Online include 40 filmed performances, drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive.
The RSC Live Collection offers students worldwide their own seat in the renowned Royal Shakespeare Company theatre. It was launched on Drama Online with 17 films of live productions performed between 2013 and 2017. A further 9 films of productions performed in 2018 and 2019 have now been added to the collection.
The TCG Books Play Collection offers 200 plays from TCG Books, the largest independent trade publisher of dramatic literature in North America. TCG Books’ backlist consists of diverse voices in contemporary American theatre, including 18 winners of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama.
Articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. It explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. With a focus on Europe and Christendom, the Encyclopedia also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact. Also available in print.
Digital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliothque Nationale de France. Contains numerous electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science.
Find articles written by scholars on the full spectrum of dance: theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Iter is a bibliography of over 230,000 articles and reviews drawn from over 475 medieval and renaissance journal titles.
Includes access to Iter Bibliography; Iter Italicum; Milton: A Bibliography (1624-1799); Bibliography of English Women Writers (1500-1640); French Renaissance Paleography and Gateway to Early Modern Manuscript Sermons
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) has high-quality, online training videos (1,700 courses+) for all skill levels including software (Adobe, Apple, HTML, SPSS, Photoshop, Excel, PowerPoint), technologies (3D Animation, Audio, Photography), design, and business topics. There is an iPhone/iPad app, too. This resource is not paid by the Libraries, but is accessible by all current students, faculty and staff of the University of Minnesota system. For more information please visit OITs information page.
To access, click the "Resource available at: Marx & Engels collected works." in the catalog record.
"The Marx/Engels Collected Works is the largest collection of translations of the complete works of Karl Marx and Frederick Engels covering the period 1835-1895. The 50 volumes contain all the written works of Marx and Engels including formerly unpublished manuscripts and letters. The early volumes contain correspondence between Marx and his father, Marx's poetry and letters from Engels to his sister. Latter volumes include the important theoretical works written by Marx: The Communist Manifesto, The Eighteenth Brumaire of Louis Bonaparte and Capital. This digital collection gives scholars access to the complete oeuvre in a fully searchable format"--Publisher's description, viewed February 10, 2016.
The most comprehensive online resource for all visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Access is limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including, scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, makeup, and more.
ODells Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwoods American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources included in the Theatre in Context Collection. Placed alongside thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera, users will be able to paint a more comprehensive picture of the life and evolution of dramatic works.
Watch hundreds of online videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the worlds most important plays. From Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett including a range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.