A great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Search a collection of African-American newspapers dating from the 1800s. It contains large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements, which illustrate the African-American experiences.
Titles include:The Christian Recorder (18611902), The Colored American (18371841), Douglass Monthly (1859-1863), Frederick Douglass' Paper (18511855), Freedom's Journal (18271829), The National Era (18471860), The North Star (18471851), Provincial Freeman (18541857), Weekly Advocate (18371837)
Use this database to find newspapers published by or for African Americans exploring such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history, ethnic studies, political science, ethnic studies, diaspora studies, and womens studies.
Includes Early American Newspapers Series 1 (1690-1876), 3 (1783-1922), 6 (1741-1922), 7 (1773-1922), and 18 (1825-1879). Spanning two centuries and 40 states, these archives of selective content from historical newspapers are primary sources for researching crucial conflicts from the Civil War to World War I, movements ranging from early states rights to women's suffrage, noteworthy citizens, local events, natural disasters; political campaigns; and the evolution of American culture.
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
The Atlanta Daily World was the first black daily in the nation in the 20th century. Use this database to find full-page digital archive of the Atlanta Daily World covering 1931-2010. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
African American newspapers that are included in the ProQuest Historical Newspaper collection: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
Digital archive of British newspapers from 1732 to 1950 including national and regional newspapers from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also included in the collection. Contains collections 1-5.
This database is available for 1 simultaneous user only.
Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1833-1949) includes the following modules:
Late Qing Dynasty Periodical Full-text Database 晚清期刊全文数据库 (1833-1911)
Republic of Chinese Periodicals Full-text Database 民国时期期刊全文数据库 (1911-1949)
The Tabloids 中国近代中文报纸全文数据库-小报 (1897-1949)
Chinese and English Newspaper of Modern China – Comprehensive Collection 中国近代中文报纸全文数据库-综合专辑
Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from Meiji Era to the present. Limited to 55 simultaneous users.
If you get an enable cookie message off-campus, then do a refresh of your browser, so the correct page will load.
Please log off after use to open access to others.
Historical run of full-text digital replicas of daily Minneapolis newspaper. Includes news articles, editorials, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, notices, illustrations and photographs and all other full image content. (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Search historic magazines focused on Rock, Folk, and Hip-Hop & Rap of a diverse and influential group of magazines. These publications uniquely capture the social and historical context including race, class, gender, American studies, youth culture, and more.
Find articles from 350 international music journals, plus the New York Times and the Washington Post. Covers all types of music from classical to modern includes concert and music reviews. Useful for music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
A partial collection covering historical newspapers from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Missouri and Oklahoma. Includes digital reproductions of newspapers from counties and cities from the 19th and 20th centuries.
This historical newspaper and one of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.
Search old editions major U.S. newspapers and the Times of India. Papers include the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Other titles include the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Christian Science Monitor, Jewish Advocate, the Jewish Exponent, Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, South China Morning Post, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliography of writings about music featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It covers over one million publications from the early 19th century to the present on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects, enhanced with the full text of more than 200 periodicals.
High-quality scans of historical American jazz periodicals. RIPM (LeRépertoire international de la presse musicale) was founded in 1980 under the auspices of the International Musicological Society (IMS) and the International Association of Music Libraries, Archives, and Documentation Centres (IAML), with a mission to preserve and to provide access to eighteenth-, nineteenth- and twentieth-century periodical literature dealing with music, and to facilitate and encourage research based on the press. RIPM Jazz Periodicals currently contains 125 jazz journals, covering the period from 1914 to 2010.
Contains around 40 current Russian central newspapers and weekly magazines, covering the entire spectrum of domestic news, as well as Russias economic and cultural life. Most are in Russian with a few in English.
A digital collection covering British news media from 1757-1817, it contains about 700 newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney. The contents were published mostly in London, and some were published in English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Ten searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from what are now India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Years of coverage fall between 1864 and 1922. Titles below.
Amrita Bazar Patrika, India, Bengali and English, 1895-1922
Amrita Bazar Patrika (biweekly), India, Bengali and English, 1870-1921
Bankura Darpan, India, Bengali, 1903-1908
Ceylon Observer, Sri Lanka, English, 1864-1922
Indian People, India, English, 1903-1909
Kayasare hinda, India, English, Gujarati, 1882-1922
Leader, India, English, 1909-1922
Madras Mail, India, English, 1868-1889
Pioneer, India, English, 1865-1903
Tribune, Pakistan, English, 1881-1922
Full digital replicas of recent content from the newspaper (including full-text articles, photos, illustrations, ads, etc.). Does not include the most recent 3 months of content. (via ProQuest Recent Newspapers)
Search full text and digital archive of "The Times of London" newspaper for the years 1785-2019. View either a specific article or a complete page with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories.
A service bringing news from around the world, translated into English, between 1995 and 2013. The information is obtained from newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports.
Search newspapers and news stories from major newspapers, news magazines, and online news outlets of the U.S., Canada, Britain, Australia, and elsewhere in the world. Useful for background research on current topics, major events in history, and people in the news.
World Newspaper Archive is a collection of historical newspapers published in Africa, Latin America, and South Asia throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. It provides excellent coverage of the people, cultures, issues and events that have shaped world history. Additional collections covering other regions will be added over time.
Looking for more info on news sources? Check out our News Sources Guide!