HIST 3704W: Daily Life in Europe, 1300-1800

Secondary sources summarize, interpret or analyze information found in primary sources. Secondary sources are usually written by individuals who did not experience firsthand the events about which they are writing or create the creative works. Examples include journal articles and scholarly books about historical events or individuals. 

Click "view online," "PDF," or the  button to connect to the full text if we have it. The   will also indicate whether a print copy is held in the Libraries. If not available, request the item via Interlibrary Loan. 

HISTORY DATABASES

GENERAL AND MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

TIPS FOR FINDING BOOKS AND BOOK CHAPTERS

1. When looking for books and book chapters: 
   1. First, search Libraries Search and/or the Library Catalog which will show what UMN Libraries have.
   2. If not found, then search WorldCat which includes materials held at other libraries. Click on "Request via Interlibrary Loan" to make a request.
2. What is the difference between Libraries Search and the Library Catalog?  Libraries Search includes all items in the Library Catalog but it also includes articles. The Library Catalog includes print books, eBooks, DVDs, journals, and other formats but NOT articles. 
3. With Advanced Searching, you can limit results to a specific languge, date range and more. 
4. If you can't find a book chapter, you can submit a book chapter request via interlibrary loan. You'll get a PDF scan usually within a week. This is a look quicker than requesting the whole book. 
5. You can request digital delivery scans of parts of books in UMN Collections. To do so fill out an interlibrary loan/digital delivery request