This guide covers digital resources for research in topics related to Early Modern History.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceIter is a bibliography of over 230,000 articles and reviews drawn from over 475 medieval and renaissance journal titles.
- Historical AbstractsFind journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Then try any of the following:
- Early European Books : printed sources to 1700This database includes prominent digitized works published in Europe from the 15th to the 18th centuries. A veritable collection of early printed books.
- EEBO: Early English Books Online (Page Images)over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).
- EEBO: Early English Books Online: TCP (Book Texts)Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership (EEBO TCP) contains searchable, marked-up text for over 60,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). EEBO TCP covers a subset of the titles available in Early English Books Online (Page Images).
- Medieval and Early Modern Studies Online (MEMSO)Search Medieval and Early Modern Studies Online (MEMSO) to find primary sources from the medieval and early modern periods and books concerning the study of medieval and early modern Britain and Ireland.
- James Ford Bell LibraryThe Bell Library documents the history and impact of trade and cross-cultural contact around the globe prior to 1825 C.E. More than 15 languages are represented in rare books, manuscripts/archival collections, and maps.
Also check out:
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains 100 language and subject dictionaries and other reference works, and searches across these resources. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Age of ExplorationDigital collection of documents related to European travels of exploration and expansion, including conflict over territories and trade routes, and scientific discoveries.
- Empire OnlineCollection of digitized documents related to the expansion outside of Europe of Great Britain, France, Spain, Portugal, and Germany from 1492, and about the end of the colonial empires that they created from 1918 to 1969.
- Making of the Modern WorldUse this source to find primary sources and full text books from the 1460-1850 period with focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.
- State Papers Online (English government, 1509-1714)State Papers Online, 1509-1714 is a collection of English government documents originating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries--when the King or Queen acted as Prime Minister as well as Monarch. The papers feature the office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch as facsimile manuscript documents. This collection contains information on every facet of English government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions and intelligence gathering as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy.
- British Online ArchivesContains a wide range of materials related to British history from the early 1600s onward, including the colonization of America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia. The collection contains sources that relate to both politics and history, including colonial missionary records, slavery in the Americas, World War One, and shipping records. Primary sources include journals, correspondence, official records and personal papers.
Last Updated: Jan 6, 2023 11:42 AM