Resources for: Medieval and Early Modern Studies

A bibliography of monographs covering aspects of history, language and literature, philosophy and theology, art history, archaeology, and other disciplines in the Western, Byzantine and Islamic world during the Middle Ages. Part of "Brepols Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies."

Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae.

Find journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.

Collection of images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between early apostolic times and the 16th century. Formerly known as the Index of Christian Art. Open access as of July 2023.

A multidisciplinary bibliography of monographs, articles, and other academic publications covering the Renaissance and the Early Modern Periods (approximately 1500-1700). Part of "Brepols Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies."

Search books and articles useful to the study of the Middle Ages, the period 476-1500 across Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa, covering resources in over 25 languages. Part of "Brepols Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies."

A bibliography of more than 1.3 million citations for secondary source material about the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.

The online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's list of previously uncataloged or incompletely cataloged Renaissance humanistic manuscripts.

Use the MLA International Bibliography to find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This index has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.

A great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

Find full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

Search the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.