Related Guides
Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
This guide lists databases and other research tools covering Medieval Studies and Early Modern Studies available to students, faculty, and staff at the University of Minnesota--Twin Cities.
General and Bilingual Language Dictionaries
ENGLISH
- Oxford English Dictionary OnlineFull-text of the 2nd ed. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. It also offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
- Dictionary of Old English CorpusDictionary of Old English electronic corpus is a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts.
- Middle English CompediumIncludes three searchable resources on Middle English (1100-1500 CE): the Middle English Dictionary, Bibliography of Middle English, and Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse. From the University of Michigan
FRENCH
- Anglo-Norman Dictionary byCall Number: TC Wilson Library General Collection PC2946 .M6 1977ISBN: 9780900547478Publication Date: 1977-1992Dictionary of Anglo-Norman dialect and modern English.
- Dictionnaire du Moyen Français (1330-1500)Online dictionary of Middle French (1330-1500) from CNRS & Université de Lorraine. Interface and content in French.
- Dictionnaires d'autrefois16 online monolingual French dictionaries of the 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th centuries from the ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) Project
GERMAN
- Das Wörterbuch-NetzPortal to 28 online German-language dictionaries. Allows cross-searching of all dictionaries at once. Includes Deutsches Wörterbuch (Grimm), Goethe Wörterbuch, Middle- and Old High German dictionaries, and several Mundart dictionaries.
ITALIAN
- Glossario degli antichi volgari Italiani byCall Number: TC Wilson Library eneral Collection PC1772 .G56x 1983ISBN: 9789519950341Publication Date: 1982-2006Monolingual dictionary of Italian from 1300-1500 CE.
- Tesoro della Lingua Italiana delle OriginiOnline monolingula dictionary of medieval Italian
LATIN
Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary: Latin-English by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198610052Publication Date: 20053rd ed.
Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus (2 Vols. ) by Call Number: TC Wilson General Collection General Collection PA2890 .N54 2002ISBN: 9789004112797Publication Date: 2002This Niermeyer lexicon provides French, English and German translations for Medieval Latin. Related dictionary volumes available online.
SPANISH
MORE DICTIONARIES
For additional dictionaries, consult the related guides.
Still more dictionaries can be found by searching in Libraries Search Advanced Search with "dictionaries" and "[name of language] language" as SUBJECTS. See below:
Last Updated: Jun 4, 2025 4:16 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=822467