Research Guides: Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering: Getting Started

Have questions?

Contact me for research help on this subject.

Engineering Librarian

she/her

Email Me

This guide is designed for new researchers who need to find articles, sources and get started with research in topics related to Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering.

Start with:

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Search journals and literature on agriculture, pollution, animals, environment, policy, natural resources, water issues and more. Searches tools like AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM), and Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases.
CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text Select
CAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, and human nutrition and health.
Web of Science
A comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

Then try any of the following:

SciFinder
SciFinder is one of the best databases for topics related to chemistry and adjacent fields. It includes journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and patents. Find substance and reaction information as well as suppliers and chemical regulatory data.
Registration is required, and you must download the Virtual Private Network (VPN) from UMN Office of Information Technology, set up new account if you don't have one and then log in to it for off-campus access.
Scopus
Search for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Also check out:

Knovel
Online access to books, databases, and conference proceedings from a number of publishers that cover all areas of engineering and includes content relevant to related sciences (e.g., chemistry and earth sciences). It includes interactive graphs and tables.
For a tutorial on using Knovel, go to Start a research project with Knovel.
ASABE Standards (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers)
Search safety and engineering standards created by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.
Engineering Village
Search journal articles from 1884-1968 on engineering. Searches both Inspec (1898-1968) and Compendex (1884-1968) Archives for articles and conference papers related to engineering, computer science, and physics.

Related Guides

National Science Foundation Broader Impacts
An explanation of the National Science Foundation's Broader Impacts requirements for project proposals.

Off-campus access to library resources

Current University students, staff and faculty should be able to get full text and online access to the University Libraries from anywhere. Here are three ways to access the library full text from off campus.

Search the University of Minnesota library website. Log in with your UMN Internet ID and password to access resources.
Log in using the U of M Virtual Private Network (VPN). You will need to download it VPN software to your computer from campus OIT (Office of Information Technology).
Install the Libraries' Proxy Bookmarklet to your browser and click it to reload the page with your U of M login to get access to full text. Watch a proxy bookmarklet video (3 min) to learn more.

View examples and learn more on our How to get to full text from on and off campus Guide.

Last Updated: Jan 22, 2025 4:58 PM