This guide covers search tools for research in topics related to Family Social Science
Conducting research through an anti-racism lens
by Shanda Hunt Last Updated Mar 14, 2023 4830 views this year
Anti-Racism Reading Lists
by Kate Peterson Last Updated Nov 2, 2022 340 views this year
Anti-Racism Readings in the Health Sciences
by Health Sciences Library Last Updated Oct 11, 2022 127 views this year
- Academic Search PremierThis multidisciplinary database is a great place to start on a breadth of topics. Click "Choose Databases" above the search box to add additional EBSCO databases to your search - particularly those covering specific minority populations
- APA PsycInfoProvides excellent coverage of the literature on behavioral and mental health. Make sure to utilize the official subject headings for best results. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results. And always feel free to reach out to me for additional assistance.
Some useful headings include: Family; Family Members; Family Relations; Marriage and Family Measures
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Then try any of the following:
- ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)Search journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, political science, social issues, social work, sociology, substance abuse, urban studies, and women's studies. Each citation also includes a list of references cited in the source article. In addition, it is possible to retrieve a list of works that have cited a specific author or a specific earlier work.
Also check out:
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Ovid MEDLINESearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Ovid MEDLINE is optimized for advanced literature searches. Coverage is from the 1940s to the present.
- PsycTestsA research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)Find surveys, tests, observation checklists, and questionnaires used to assess health and behavior of infants, children, adolescents, adults, and the elderly. Topics covered include public health, communication, psychology, management, nursing, organizational behavior, medicine, sociology, physical education, psychiatry, human resources, gerontology and dental medicine. Includes information about the test such as title, author, publication resource, reliability and validity. Note: One users can access at a time.
- Sage Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods is a tool designed to help scholars of all levels create research projects in their specific discipline and understand the methods behind them.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains more than 2,400 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals. The University Libraries has access to the Classic Collection (volumes 1 and 2). Take a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
- PsycTherapy This link opens in a new windowThis collection of videos (with transcripts) show therapy sessions with noted therapists. You can search by Title, Approach, Therapist, and Topic. Advanced search allows focusing on aspects of the therapist's or client's demographic identities.
- Symptom MediaSymptom Media is a film library of 180 clinical training vignettes that serves as an integral educational tool for "symptom recognition." All films are produced with an experienced multi-disciplinary behavioral health team working in concert with professional scriptwriters, filmmakers and highly trained actors, facilitating a synergistic realism and clinical accuracy during the entire filmmaking process. Videos range in length from 30 seconds to 15 minutes.
- Docuseek2Find documentaries and social issue films and view online.
- Filmakers Library OnlineProvides award-winning documentaries on race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
- Kanopy StreamingVideo streaming platform hosting a wide variety of award-winning films and documentaries.
- New Day DigitalA filmmaker-run resource for streaming award-winning films covering a wide range of subject areas.
- Documenting SourcesGive credit to those whose work you use in your own writing and help others find your sources. Find information on citing sources using major styles and avoiding plagiarism.
- Tutorial: What are citations?Understand what citations are, why they are important, and how to create and use them.
- Citation Guides and Style ManualsA guide to different citation styles.
- Citation Managers (e.g. Zotero, EndNote Online, etc.)Citation managers are software packages used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to: import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources; save links to pdfs and other documents; format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles; and include your own notes.
Last Updated: Mar 20, 2023 7:56 AM