Resources for: African Studies

Search all aspects of International Studies from theory and pedagogy to policy and practice, from identities, sexuality, and human rights to qualitative and quantitative methods, and more.

Find articles from scholarly journals in the field of Black Studies from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary; spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of importance to the Black Studies discipline.

Search more than a million items from archives, libraries, museums, galleries, other cultural organizations within Africa, and organizations outside of Africa. Includes books, magazines, newspapers, historical journals, government documents, posters, manuscripts, letters, diaries, ephemera, photographs, art, music, videos, and oral histories.

Produced by NISC South Africa, Africa-Wide Information is a multidisciplinary database of research and publications by Africans and about Africa. It sources information from Africa, Europe and North America. Limited to 1 user at a time.

Find journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.

Find full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) searches journals and other sources on issues of political science and public policy. This includes government, politics, international relations, human rights and more.

Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

Search for articles in newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and newswire feeds across a variety of library databases.

More than 60 African historical newspapers from the nineteenth century originally archived by the British Library.

More than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Full page images of key newspapers from East Africa from the 1940s to the early 2000s.

Key newspapers published in the Middle Eastern and North African countries in the 20th century. Open Access, except for the following five newspapers: al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية, Egypt), Filasṭīn (فلسطين, Israel), al-Akhbar (الاخبار, Lebanon), al-Riyadh (الرياض, Saudi Arabia), and al-Dustūr (الدستور, Jordan)

This interface allows you to search for articles in newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and newswire feeds across a variety of library databases. It includes many, but not all, library news subscriptions.