A guide to finding newspapers, magazines, broadcasts, and other news sources at the UMN Libraries.
Minnesota Newspapers
Minneapolis Star Tribune
- Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867-2001)Historical run of full-text digital replicas of daily Minneapolis newspaper. Includes news articles, editorials, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, notices, illustrations and photographs and all other full image content. (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- Minneapolis Star Tribune (1986 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from the recent issues of the Star Tribune. Does not include wire stories, ads, photos, or other non-textual article content from the paper. (via ProQuest Newsstream). Note: There is a one-day embargo on content.
- Minneapolis Star Tribune (1987 to 1 week ago)Full digital replicas of recent content from the newspaper (including full-text articles, photos, illustrations, ads, etc.). Does not include the most recent 1 week of content. (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Minnesota Collection)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
- St. Paul Pioneer Press (1948 to present) This link opens in a new windowSearch and browse historical and current issues of the St. Paul Pioneer Press and related titles. Full-page digital images of the complete paper are available for the historical archive (1948 to 2023) as well as the most recent issues (2018 to present). Articles from 1988 to 2018 are available in full-text, but without page images. (via Access World News)
- St. Paul Pioneer Press (2010 to 2019) This link opens in a new windowDigital page-image access to the full text of the Pioneer Press. Does not include the most recent three months of content. (via ProQuest Recent Newspapers)
Other individual titles
- Duluth News Tribune (1995 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of daily Duluth newspaper, including full-page digital images of the complete paper from 2018 to present. (via Access World News)
- Minneapolis Spokesman (1934 - 2000)The forerunner to the Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder, the oldest continuously operated black newspaper in Minnesota, is available digitally in the Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub.
- The Minnesota DailyThe historical archive of the student newspaper for the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities is available online in the UDC from 1900 to 2009. There is a full web archive of the MN Daily site, including video content, available from April 2019 to present, and 2014 to present copies are available on Issuu.
- St. Paul Daily Globe (1876-1905)The Library of Congress digital archives for three different titles of this St. Paul newspaper include: Daily Globe (1878-1884), St. Paul Daily Globe (1884-1896), and The Saint Paul Globe (1896-1905).
Collections
- Access World NewsFull-text news from over 9,000 news sources in the U.S. and international newspapers, major wire services, and hundreds of local broadcasting outlets and blogs. There are over 100 Minnesota sources. Mostly English language news coverage with some 200 titles in Spanish, French, Afrikaans and other languages.
- American City Business Journals (BizJournals)Find articles from the Minneapolis St. Paul Business Journal.
- Minnesota Digital Newspaper HubDigital reproductions of historical newspapers from Minnesota cities. Includes the Minneapolis Tribune from 1867-1922.
- Newsbank: Minnesota News Sources161 Minnesota news sources available through Newsbank. Includes many local and regional papers.
- Newspaper Archive (Midwest)A partial collection covering historical newspapers from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Missouri and Oklahoma. Includes digital reproductions of newspapers from counties and cities from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Twin Cities Community News
- American Jewish World (UMN Upper Midwest Jewish Archives)Digitized collection of this 20th century newspaper focused on Minnesota’s Jewish community.
- Asian American PressAsian American Press is an online platform promoting diversity and unity among the Asian American and Pacific Islander communities.
- Asian American Press (paper copy)Issues available include latest 6 months. Available at Wilson Newspaper Room.
- The Circle"Native American news and arts"
Check the Wilson Newspaper Room for physical paper copies. - The Circle (1994-current)Online issues available through Ethnic News Watch database. Oldest issue available from March 1994.
- City PagesMinneapolis and St. Paul news. Issues available online are from 1995 - present.
Current issue can also be found as a physical paper copy in Wilson Newspaper Room. - DeBahJiMon NewspaperLeech Lake Band of Ojibwe newspaper.
Physical copy of the latest year available at Wilson Newspaper Room. - Insight News"Insight News, the community journal for news, business and the arts serving the Minneapolis / St. Paul African American community."
- Insight News (paper copy)Latest 6 months available at Wilson Newspaper Room.
- La Prensa de MinnesotaMinnesota Latino publication
Paper copies of the most recent year can be found at Wilson Newspaper Room. - Minnesota Real Estate Law JournalPhysical copies available at Twin Cities campus law library.
- Minnesota Spokesman-RecorderThe oldest Black-owned newspaper in the state of Minnesota and one of the longest-standing, family-owned newspapers in the country. Available online issues form July 2002 - present.
- Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder (paper copy)African-American newspaper. Latest 6 months available at the Wilson Newspaper Room.
- MinnPostNon-profit publisher of online news and analysis by professional journalists about the Twin Cities. The site features video and audio as well as written stories, commentary, and comments from readers.
- Sahan JournalIndependent nonprofit digital news reporting for and about immigrants and refugees in Minnesota.
UMN News Sources
- The Minnesota DailyThe historical archive of the student newspaper for the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities is available online in the UDC from 1900 to 2009. There is a full web archive of the MN Daily site, including video content, available from April 2019 to present, and 2014 to present copies are available on Issuu.
- M Newsletter (1996-2008)M was a publication for alumni and friends of the University of Minnesota campuses at Crookston, Duluth, Morris, Rochester, and Twin Cities. It was published by University Relations.
- Murphy ReporterThe Murphy Reporter is published twice each year by the University of Minnesota's School of Journalism and Mass Communication for alumni, faculty, staff, students and friends of the school.
- Update (1973-1995)Superseding Reports from Your University of Minnesota, Update was published by the Department of University Relations from 1973 to 1995. It was published quarterly and sent to parents of students, alumni, faculty, staff, and friends of the University.
- The Visitor (1914-1991)The Visitor was published by the Division of Agricultural Education in the College of Agriculture at the University of Minnesota.
- The Minnesotan (1947-1969)"The Minnesotan" was published by the Department of University Relations for staff of the University of Minnesota. Replaced by the University Report (see below).
- Radio K (KUOM) Digital ArchivesThousands of digitized radio shows from University of Minnesota's KUOM from the 1950s to the 90s (via UMedia).
- University Report (1969-1973)The University Report was sent to all staff members on the University's Twin Cities campus and replaced "The Minnesotan," a monthly magazine of feature articles. Replaced by the Report Newsletter (see below).
- Report Newsletter (1973-1984)Described as a publication for faculty and staff of the University of Minnesota, Report was sent subscription-free to faculty and staff on all of the University campuses.
Other Collections
- Minnesota Historical Society Newspaper CollectionsThe Minnesota Historical Society has a large collection of newspapers published in the state. This includes items like local advertisers, old ethnic group newspapers, etc.
- Minnesota ReflectionsSearch a collection of thousands of historic documents and images from across Minnesota contributed by libraries, archives, museums, and historical societies from all corners of the state.
Directories and Guides
- Minnesota Newspaper AssociationThe MNA creates maps of Minnesota cities that have daily, weekly and suburban newspapers in the state of Minnesota.
- Minnesota Newspaper DirectoryNewspapers for the Twin Cities metro region and other Minnesota locations
- Minnesota NewspapersLists of all the Minnesota newspapers with online editions.
Microfilm Collections in Wilson Library (not available online)
Microfilm collections of historical newspapers are found in the Newspaper Room of the Wilson Library (basement level). The Minnesota related historical newspapers available are listed below. You can access the microfilm equipment to view, print, or scan articles. [insert link about using microfilms]
MINNEAPOLIS
- Evening Journal (1881-1888)
- Minneapolis Journal (1888-1939)
- Minneapolis Daily Star (scattered issues between 1934-1939)
- Minneapolis Star-Journal (1939-1947)
- Minneapolis Star (1947-1982)
- Minneapolis Tribune (1964-1982)
- Minneapolis Star and Tribune (1982-1987)
- Star Tribune (1987-present)
- Minneapolis Daily Tribune (1867-1876)
- Minneapolis Tribune (1876-1877)
- Tribune (Minneapolis, MN; 1877-1882)
- Daily Minnesota Tribune (1882-1884)
- Minneapolis Daily Tribune (1884-1886)
- Minneapolis Tribune (1886-1909)
- Minneapolis Morning Tribune (1909-1930)
- Minneapolis Tribune (1930-1939)
- Minneapolis Morning Tribune (1939-1964)
SAINT PAUL
- Pioneer and Democrat (1860-1862)
- Saint Paul Pioneer (1862-1867)
- Saint Paul Daily Pioneer (1867-1875)
- Saint Paul Daily Pioneer-Press (1875-1876)
- Pioneer-Press and Tribune (1976)
- Pioneer Press (1876-1879)
- Daily Pioneer Press (1879-1909)
- St. Paul Pioneer Press (1909-1984)
- St. Paul Dispatch (1985-1990)
- St. Paul Pioneer Press Dispatch (1985-1990)
Additional Indexes and Bibliographies
Digital images of index cards containing the newspaper location of historic events. Use these index cards to look-up different historical articles, events, and other publications in past newspapers.
- Minneapolis Newspaper IndexesUse index cards in the Wilson Library basement to look up different historical events in the Minneapolis Tribune (1940-1945;1950-1954), the Minnesota Daily (1900-1922; 1963-1977), and the Minneapolis Star (1964-1970).
Minnesota Indexes (physical copies)
Available at Wilson Library:
1891-1928. Minneapolis Journal Index--Wilson Rare Books Folio AI21 .M52x
1940-1945 Minneapolis Tribune Index--Wilson Reference quarto AI21 .M54
1964-1970 Minneapolis Star & Tribune Index--Wilson Reference AI21 .M53
1971-1981 Minneapolis Tribune and Minneapolis Star Index--Wilson Reference AI21 .M53
1982-1986 Minneapolis Star & Tribune Index--Wilson Reference AI21 .M53
- Access"A supplementary index to periodicals."
- Minneapolis: A Selected BibliographyThis bibliography proivdes access to Minneapolis stories in the national media from 1977-1980.
- Minnesota Periodicals IndexFocuses on the "history and current affairs of the state of Minnesota" in 51 Minnesota magazines, many of which are reproduced in the microfilm set Minnesota Periodicals--Wilson Periodicals Mfilm 2961.
- Our Minnesota IndexAn index to the Minnesota periodical collection in the South St. Paul Public Library.
- Reference guide to Minnesota historyA subject bibliography of books, pamphlets, and articles in English.
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2024 9:11 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/news-sources