News Sources

Coded knowledge graph data created from the transcripts of the Internet Archive's Television News Archive. Data is accessible via Google BigQuery and as raw CSV files.

This download includes a set of news stories about hate crimes collected by Google News, including the title, date, publisher, location, keywords, and a brief summary of each story. The data is updated weekly.

Survey dataset for the 2019 Pew report, For Local News, Americans Embrace Digital but Still Want Strong Community Connection.

Three online tools—Explorer, Topic Mapper, and Source Manager—to analyze stories and topics across print, broadcast and digital news collections. Developed by the MIT Center for Civic Media and the Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard. Data is also available via API and as open source software.

Web archive of the homepages of 663 local news websites representing 100 communities across the United States. Over 2.2TB of unique data and 16 million URLs. (July - September 2016)

The News Homepage Archive is a collection of 3.5 million screenshots from roughly 75 different online news organizations, preserved from 2012 to 2018.

The dataset available for analysis includes near 24-7 recordings of CNN, Fox News, and MSNBC between January 1, 2010 and August 24, 2020. (The dataset updates daily, with approximately a 24-36 hour lag from the original content's air date.) In total, the dataset consists of over 270,000 hours of video and includes both TV news programming and commercial segments.