Resources for: Anthropology

AM (formerly Adam Matthew) publishes unique primary source collections from archives around the world. Collections span the social sciences and humanities and cover a multitude of topics ranging from Medieval family life and Victorian medicine to 1960s pop culture and global politics.

Collections of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other topical areas.

Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.

This collection contains ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork on the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. Access to volume 1 and 4 only

Includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, film footage, field notebooks, slides, photographs, correspondence, and ephemera. Materials date from 1930 through 2013, and document secular and religious musical traditions from sites worldwide. Produced by Adam Matthew in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive and the Ethnomusicology Archive at the University of Washington.

Portal to open access primary historical documents for European countries that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Texts, video, sound files, maps, photographs and other imagery, databases, and other documentation are also available. Coverage is from Prehistoric Europe to present day.

History Makers is the largest African American oral video history archive in the world.

Collections of books, manuscripts, and ephemera providing a historical view of disabilities from the seventeenth to twentieth century. Materials include personal memoirs, reports and proceedings of organizations and institutions, policies and programs concerning persons with disabilities. Rehabilitation, treatments, methods of education, and other forms of remediation are documented.

Meiji Japan provides digital access to the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), an American polymath notable for his work in natural history, ethnography, archaeology and art history. Morse taught at Tokyo Imperial University in the 1870s and travelled extensively in Japan, recording his experiences in great detail and maintaining a deep interest in the country and its culture for the remainder of his life. This resource provides insights into Japan during the Meiji Era (1868-1912).

Includes global coverage from 1980-present day of authentic stories as they were originally told, drawing on podcasts, blogs, digital magazines, and interviews gathered from NGOs, non-profits, religious support groups, and government refugee boards, border service, and immigration offices.

Accessible through the Wiley Digital Archives platform, the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) Collection contains the organization's entire archives running from 1871 to 1967. The content includes manuscripts, photographs, maps, drawings, correspondence, expedition and fieldwork reports, papers, meeting minutes, administrative papers, surveys, conference papers, and more.