Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
This guide is designed for new researchers to find articles and other information related to the field of Chemistry.
Start with:
If you are looking for information to support your chemistry lab report, see your Course Guide for recommendations. You can find it by going to the Explore - Research Guides page and selecting the appropriate course number.
If you are looking for physical or chemical property data about a substance or material, here are some good starting points:
-
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsAnnually published reference source for chemical and physical property data, nomenclature, structure, and composition of substances. Includes physical constants of organic and inorganic compounds, conversion factors, and much more.
-
Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and BiologicalsClassic reference source for chemists with over 10,000 entries on drugs and pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents. The entries include data such as chemical names, molecular formula, chemical structure, physical data, and literature references.
-
KnovelOnline access to books, databases, and conference proceedings from a number of publishers that cover all areas of engineering and includes content relevant to related sciences (e.g., chemistry and earth sciences). It includes interactive graphs and tables.
Then try any of the following:
Looking for an article or trying to verify a citation?
-
SciFinderSciFinder is one of the best databases for topics related to chemistry and adjacent fields. It includes journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and patents. Find substance and reaction information as well as suppliers and chemical regulatory data.
-
Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Also check out:
Looking for syntheses of or information about organic or inorganic chemical substances?
-
Reaxys (Chemistry)Provides access to chemical structure, reaction, and property information on organic, inorganic, and organometallic compounds; its contents are derived from Beilstein (organic compounds) and Gmelin (inorganic and organometallic compounds), which date to the 18th and 19th centuries, as well as selected English-language chemical patents.
Last Updated: Oct 14, 2025 12:47 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/Chemistry