Related Guides
- German FilmResources related to German-language film, TV, and cinema culture
Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
This guide covers search tools for research in topics related to German Language and Literature for beginning researchers. For additional resources, see the German Language and Literature (Advanced Researchers) guide in Related Guides.
Start with:
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- MLA International BibliographyUse the MLA International Bibliography to find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This index has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
- Oxford Companion to German LiteratureCovers German-language literature from the eighth century throught the mid-1990s. Has short, non-detailed articles with few bibliographical references. Includes authors, titles, themes, and characters.
Then try any of the following:
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)Search journals in linguistics and language sciences from 1973 to the present including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics in journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Also check out:
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowProvides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Search by full-text keyword, author, topic, volume title, publication date, or DLB series.
- Cambridge History of German literature (1997)eBook. Describes German literary history up to the unification of Germany in 1990. The book is designed for general readers as well as students and scholars: titles and quotations are translated, and there is an extensive bibliography. Also available in print
- German literature: a very short introductioneBook. Traces German literature from the late Middle Ages to the present, focusing especially on the last 250 years.
- Beolingus German dictionaryOnline bilingual dictionaries from German-English/English-German and other languages
- LEO German-English/English-German DictionaryOnline bilingual dictionaries to and from German English, and other languages.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 3:06 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/german