Business Librarians
*****Please note that full financial statements are available for corporations that have stock that is traded on a public exchange.
Use these resources to find full text corporate annual reports on the Web
- SEC: Corporate filings from the US Securities and Exchange CommissionThe SEC requires all public companies (except foreign companies and companies with less than $10 million in assets and 500 shareholders) to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through this site (formerly called EDGAR). Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available from the SEC and instructions for searching the SEC database.
- Mergent Online (Business)--Mergent ONLINE contains information about public corporations around the world. Mergent ONLINE also includes the full-text image files of corporate annual reports for publicly traded US corporations going back to 1996. EDGAR filings are also available through Mergent Online.
--This is great place to go to find Annual Reports to Shareholders that have been issued for publicly-traded corporations since l996. After you have done the initial search for a corporation, look for the Reports tab at the top of the screen. Choose the report for the years you are interested in.
- Company's Web Site--You can check the Web site for the company to see if any company history is available on the Web. The usual form of a company's Web site is http://www.companyname.com -- but sometimes there are differences in the address. You can almost always find sites for publicly traded corporations by using Google.
- ProQuest Historical Annual ReportsDatabase offers corporate annual reports for U.S. companies from 1884 to the present. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, industry or date. Cross-searchable to other historical periodical databases.
- S&P Capital IQ (with access to Aftermarket Research)University students, staff, and faculty must create a user profile. Click "New User?" and input your UMN credentials to gain access. Credentials will then work for both Capital IQ and Capital IQ PRO.
Standard & Poor's Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. Capital IQ includes access to Aftermarket Research, an extensive collection of embargoed analyst research reports, offering coverage across more than 1,800 research providers including 30 million+ reports (current & historical back to 1995).
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu 2 business days ahead of your visit to arrange for login access.
Resources that provide corporate financial statements
Use these resources to find information on balance sheets, income statements, cashflow statements
- Mergent Online (Business)Mergent ONLINE contains information about public corporations around the world. Mergent ONLINE also includes the full-text image files of corporate annual reports for publicly traded US corporations going back to 1996. EDGAR filings are also available through Mergent Online.
This is great place to go to find Annual Reports to Shareholders that have been issued for publicly-traded corporations since l996. After you have done the initial search for a corporation, look for the Reports tab at the top of the screen. Choose the report for the years you are interested in.
- Mergent WebReportsDocuments covering public corporations in over 100 countries. MergentWeb contains all the historical information recorded in Moody's Manuals dating back to the early 1900s. This archive is an excellent source of corporate history, business descriptions and financial statements.
- ProQuest Historical Annual ReportsDatabase offers corporate annual reports for U.S. companies from 1884 to the present. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, industry or date. Cross-searchable to other historical periodical databases.
- SEC: Corporate filings from the US Securities and Exchange CommissionThe SEC requires all public companies (except foreign companies and companies with less than $10 million in assets and 500 shareholders) to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through this site (formerly called EDGAR). Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available from the SEC and instructions for searching the SEC database.
- PitchBookPitchbook is a mediated-access database. Please see Additional Information. Use PitchBook to search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.
See also:
- Company Information and Annual ReportsGet a quick overview of large companies, their operations, and competitors.
Last Updated: Dec 19, 2024 6:02 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=846785