The databases below include a variety of historical magazines and popular periodicals. Here's a list of specific magazine archives by title.
Archives & Special Collections
The UMN Archives and Special Collections (ASC) department collects and preserves an amazing array of materials that support interdisciplinary research, including many unique collections of newspapers and other periodicals.
Digitized Newspaper Collections
- Greek American Newspapers and Italian American Newspapers - Digitized selections from the Immigration History Research Center Archives periodicals. Browse more of the IHRCA digital collections here.
- The Illustrated Police News
- Trench and Camp Newspaper (Camp Cody) and Camp Upton - Newspapers published by the National War Work Council of the YMCA, in partnership with various city newspapers, for soldiers during WWI
The National News Council papers are held in the Social Welfare History Archives. The Council was created in 1973 in New York City upon the recommendation of an independent task force of the Twentieth Century Fund, a research foundation. Conceived as a private, nonprofit organization, the council began operation with two basic objectives: to consider complaints brought against the media, whether by individual citizens or organizations, concerning alleged misstatements, inaccuracies, or unfairness; and to study possible infringements on the freedom of the press. A Guide to the Archives of the National News Council is available from the Silha Center for the Study of Media Ethics and Law, School of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Minnesota, 1986.