A guide to news digital archives and historical news sources, including newspapers and magazines.
Historical Newspapers & Magazines: By Title
Newspapers by title
- Financial Times (FT.com)News, analysis and comment from the Financial Times, a leading global business publication. Current students, faculty, and staff must register and create personal accounts using University of Minnesota e-mail addresses at the link above.
- Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016Digital archive of the Financial Times, the leading daily business newspaper of Britain and Europe, covering 1888-2016. Search and download articles or full pages that include articles, advertisement, charts, illustrations, photographs, and supplementary content.
- Los Angeles Times (1881-20xx)Search articles, full pages and images of the Los Angeles Times newspaper. The archive runs from 1881 to 9 years ago.
- Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1930)The Historical Minneapolis Tribune is an open access digital archive of this newspaper from 1867-1930. Full pages can be printed or saved to pdf using the print feature. For other digital newspapers from the Minnesota Historical Society, go to Digital Newspapers at MNHS
- Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867 to 2001) This link opens in a new windowHistorical run of full-text digital replicas of daily Minneapolis newspaper. Includes news articles, editorials, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, notices, illustrations and photographs and all other full image content. (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- Minneapolis Star Tribune (1986 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from the recent issues of the Star Tribune. Does not include wire stories, ads, photos, or other non-textual article content from the paper. (via ProQuest Newsstream). Note: There is a one-day embargo on content.
- Le Monde 1944-2000 This link opens in a new windowSearch the historical archive of Le Monde dating back to 1944. Provides coverage of the politics, society, and business of the time. Content will continue to be uploaded through the end of 2021.
- Moscow News Digital ArchiveContains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014) of Moscow News, the oldest English-language newspaper in the USSR/Russia as well as Moscow Daily News (1932-1938). Features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text.
- El Mundo (Spain, 2002-present)Free web archive of the major Spanish language newspaper from 2002-present.
- New York Times (1851 to 20xx) This link opens in a new windowFull-page, digital archive of the New York Times. The archive runs from 1851 to 4 years ago. Search and view images of articles, advertising, photos, and more (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers).
- New York Times (1980 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of the New York Times to present day. Does not include photos, illustrations, ads, wire stories, or other page-image level access. (via ProQuest Newsstream)
- El País, Madrid (1976-present)Free online archive of major Spanish newspaper.
- El País, Madrid (1976-present)Free online archive of major Spanish newspaper.
- Global Perspectives: Pravda Archive, 1959-1996 (FBIS)Selected articles from the official Communist Party newspaper of the Soviet Union, as translated by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019Search full text and digital archive of "The Times of London" newspaper for the years 1785-2019. View either a specific article or a complete page with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories.
- Times of India, 1838-2010Digital archive of the Times of India (1838-2010 with annual additions of new content). Actual full-page images and full text searchable. The titles included under this heading are: Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce (1839-1859) and the Bombay Times and Standard (1861-1861).
- Wall Street Journal, 1889-20xxSearch full text digital archive of the Wall Street Journal from 1889 to 12 years ago. View individual articles or full pages including advertisements, editorials, etc.
- Wall Street Journal (1980 to present)Full-text coverage of the Journal - a business newspaper with extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments, and companies - to present day. Does not include photos, illustrations, ads, wire stories, or other page-image level access. (via ProQuest Newsstream)
Magazines by title
- Architectural Digest Archive, 1922-2011Access full text issues of the influential design magazine from the 1920s to 2011, including color photographs and cover art. Use this archives to research the history of design, culture, art, and residential architecture. Analyze trends in topics or types of advertising in thes historical issues.
- Bloomberg Businessweek Archive, 1929-2000Find indexes, abstracts, and full text for the complete archive of Businessweek, beginning with its first issue in 1929 and ending in December 2000.
- Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015Full-text searchable copy of every issue of "The Economist" from 1843. Full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue. Access is not available for the most current four years.
- Forbes Magazine ArchiveSearch bi-weekly business magazine since the first issue in 1917 for articles, advertisements, illustrations, charts found in each issue cover to cover. Use this archives to find information about business leaders, politics, and technology including Forbes lists of companies, world's richest people, most powerful women and other rankings.
- ForeignAffairs.comForeign Affairs is a leading magazine & website covering American foreign policy & international relations. It is relevant for assignments & research projects about policy, political science, economics, public health, & other global issues.
- Harper's Bazaar Archive, 1867-currentFind articles, advertisements, and covers of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867 to the current month.
- Harper's Magazine Archive (1850 - present)Complete online access to over 170 years of Harper's, the oldest general-interest monthly magazine in America, featuring narrative journalism, essays and more. Access is for 2 simultaneous users.
- HarpWeekHarpWeek contains the scanned images of pages of the magazine Harper's Weekly for the years 1857-1912, with a series of indexes to search for news, editorials, fiction, illustrations, photos, political cartoons, advertisements.
- Life Magazine Archive, 1936-2000Searchable digital archive of Life magazine covering national and international events, documentaries, popular culture, and business from November 1936 through December 2000.
- The Nation (1865-2020)Opinion magazine available from 1865 via EBSCO.
- National Review (1955-2020)Opinion archives available from 1955 via EBSCO.
- New Republic (1914-2020)Available from 1914 via EBSCO.
- New Yorker Archive (1925 - present)Online access to a full-color page image archive of the American weekly magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry. Access is for two simultenous users.
- Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992The Punch Historical Archive includes the complete run of the weekly magazine, as well as its annual Almanack, seasonal issues, and indexes.
- Scientific AmericanAmerican science magazine written for the general public. Published since 1845.
- Time Magazine Archive, 1923-2000Search full text of Time Magazine from 1923 to 2000 and read articles, front and back covers, photographs, illustrations and advertisements.
- Vogue Archive, 1892-currentA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
- Women's Wear Daily Archive, 1910-currentSearch the full text digital archive of the fashion industry's most influential trade magazines from 1910-present. Research the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- Illustrated London News Historical ArchiveSearch online access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
UMN News Sources
- The Minnesota DailyThe historical archive of the student newspaper for the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities is available online in the UDC from 1900 to 2009. There is a full web archive of the MN Daily site, including video content, available from April 2019 to present, and 2014 to present copies are available on Issuu.
- M Newsletter (1996-2008)M was a publication for alumni and friends of the University of Minnesota campuses at Crookston, Duluth, Morris, Rochester, and Twin Cities. It was published by University Relations.
- Murphy ReporterThe Murphy Reporter is published twice each year by the University of Minnesota's School of Journalism and Mass Communication for alumni, faculty, staff, students and friends of the school.
- Update (1973-1995)Superseding Reports from Your University of Minnesota, Update was published by the Department of University Relations from 1973 to 1995. It was published quarterly and sent to parents of students, alumni, faculty, staff, and friends of the University.
- The Visitor (1914-1991)The Visitor was published by the Division of Agricultural Education in the College of Agriculture at the University of Minnesota.
- The Minnesotan (1947-1969)"The Minnesotan" was published by the Department of University Relations for staff of the University of Minnesota. Replaced by the University Report (see below).
- Radio K (KUOM) Digital ArchivesThousands of digitized radio shows from University of Minnesota's KUOM from the 1950s to the 90s (via UMedia).
- University Report (1969-1973)The University Report was sent to all staff members on the University's Twin Cities campus and replaced "The Minnesotan," a monthly magazine of feature articles. Replaced by the Report Newsletter (see below).
- Report Newsletter (1973-1984)Described as a publication for faculty and staff of the University of Minnesota, Report was sent subscription-free to faculty and staff on all of the University campuses.
Newspapers on Microfilm
Students and faculty at the University of Minnesota can request any microfilm newspaper available from the Center for Research Libraries. Request these newspapers using the Interlibrary Loan service.
- Atlanta Journal Constitution
Full text online from 1986
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1868-2013
Print index 1983"”1999 Wilson Library Quarto AI21.A87 A86x
- Boston Globe
Full text online from 1986
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1872-1930 and 1988-2010
Proquest Digital Microfilm from 2008
- Chicago Tribune (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Digital archive of the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1991
-
- Chicago Tribune
Full text online 1996-present
Wilson Library Microfilm 1849-present
Proquest Digital Microfilm from 2008
- Chicago Tribune
- Christian Science Monitor (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Digital archive available from ProQuest Historical Newspaper from 1908-2001.
-
- Christian Science Monitor
Full text online from 1980-present
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1908"”2009
Index - Wilson Quarto AI21 .C463 C45 1949"”1999
- Christian Science Monitor
- Denver Post.
Full text online from 1988
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1980-2004
Print Index 1979-1999 Wilson Quarto AI21 .D44 B44.
- Detroit News
Full text online from 1999
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1943-2003
Paper Index 1976-1999 Wilson Quarto AI21 .D46 D47.
- Los Angeles Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable text back to 1881.
-
- Los Angeles Times
Full text online from 1985
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1962-2011
Index - Wilson Quarto AI21 .L65 N49 1972"”1999
Proquest Digital Microfilm from 2008
- Los Angeles Times
- New York Post
Full text online from 1997
Wilson Library microfilm 1832-1960
- New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
1851-2001
Proquest Historical Newspaper version with full page and article images. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
-
- New York Times
Full text online 1980-present
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1851-present
Print Index 1851-present Wilson Library AI21.N45
Proquest Digital Microfilm from 2008
- New York Times
- Philadelphia Inquirer
Full text online from 1994
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1982-1999
Early American Newspapers 1829-1860
- Saint Louis Post Dispatch
Full text online from 1989
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1879-1999
- Saint Paul Pioneer Press
Full text online from 1995
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1849-current
Proquest Digital Microfilm from 2009
- San Francisco Chronicle.
Full text online from 1985
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1890-1899, 1913, 1918-2010
Print index 1976-1999, Wilson Library Quarto AI21 .S25 S26
- Star Tribune (Minneapolis)
Full text online from 1986
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1849-current
Proquest Digital Microfilm from 2009
-
- Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1930)
The Historical Minneapolis Tribune is an open access digital archive of this newspaper from 1867-1930. Full pages can be printed or saved to pdf using the print feature. For other digital newspapers from the Minnesota Historical Society, go to Digital Newspapers at MNHS
- Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1930)
- Times Picayune (New Orleans)
Full text online from 1992
Wilson Library Newspaper microfilm 1837-1999
Early American Newspapers 1837-1840, 1901-1922
- USA Today
Full text online from 1987
Wilson Library microfilm 1978-2011
Proquest Digital Microfilm from 2009
- Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Digital archive via ProQuest of the Wall Street Journal that includes features for searching, viewing and saving articles or full pages. Years of coverage added annually.
-
- Wall Street Journal
Full text online from 1979
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1889-2013
Print index 1955-2000 Wilson Library Annex AI21.W3
Proquest Digital Microfilm from 2008
- Wall Street Journal
- Washington Post (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Digital archive from 1889 that has features for searching, viewing, and saving articles.
- Washington Post
Full text online from 1977
Wilson Library Newspaper Room microfilm 1877-2011
Print index 1976-1999 Wilson Library Quarto AI21.W3
Proquest Digital Microfilm from 2008
Last Updated: Feb 29, 2024 3:02 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/historical-news