Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Engineering Librarian
Use this page to find resources for research into concrete structures.
Find Articles & Books
- American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Civil Engineering DatabaseThe Civil Engineering Database indexes all ASCE journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Full text is available for most journals from 1983 to present.
- KnovelOnline access to books, databases, and conference proceedings from a number of publishers that cover all areas of engineering and includes content relevant to related sciences (e.g., chemistry and earth sciences). It includes interactive graphs and tables.
- Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Recommended Journals
- ACI Materials JournalPeer-reviewed journal presenting research on materials and concrete, including properties, use, and handling of concrete and related American Concrete Institute (ACI) standards.
- ACI Structural JournalPeer-reviewed journal publishing research on structural design and analysis of concrete elements and structures, concrete elements and structures, design and analysis theory, and related American Concrete Institute (ACI) standards.
- ASCE Journal of Bridge EngineeringPeer-reviewed journal from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) publishing papers on bridge engineering.
- ASCE Journal of Bridge EngineeringPeer-reviewed journal from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) publishing papers on bridge engineering.
- Earthquake SpectraProfessional journal of the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI).
- PCI JournalBimonthly publication including peer-reviewed research on the analysis, design, materials, construction, and repair of precast and/or pre-stressed concrete structures and pavements.
Reference Sources
Minimum Design Loads for Buildings and Other Structures by ISBN: 0784410852Publication Date: 2010-05-01ASCE Standard 7-10 provides requirements for general structural design and includes means for determining dead, live, soil, flood, wind, snow, rain, atmospheric ice, and earthquake loads, and their combinations that are suitable for inclusion in building codes and other documents.ACI manual of concrete practice by
Call Number: Quarto TA681 .A64Publication Date: 2013An encyclopedia of concrete technology that covers code requirements, specifications, tolerances, concrete proportions, construction methods, evaluation of test results, and many more topics
Standards
Standards serve as a common language for engineers, designers and manufacturers, providing invaluable information to define quality and safety criteria; outline test methods and performance requirements; and provide rules and guidelines for products, processes and services. The Libraries have standards from a number of organizations in our collection. Search for standards in the Libraries catalog. Please contact sciref@umn.edu for additional support.
- Tutorial: Standards: what are they and how can I find them?Discover what standards are, why they exist, and identify major publishers of standards. Recognize where and how to get access to them.
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital LibraryProduced by the American Society for Testing and Materials, this resource provides instant access to the current digital edition of the Annual Book of ASTM Standards.
- AASTHO (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials)AASHTO Provisional Standards & Standard specifications for transportation materials and methods of sampling and testing
- ACI (American Concrete Institute)ACI Manual of Concrete Practice standards are available in print in Walter Library.
- ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers)To find an ASCE Standard, look up the standard by its title in MNCat Discovery
- ASHRAE (American Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air-Conditioning Engineers)ASHRAE standards are available in Walter Library, Room 206.
- ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)The most current editions of ASME standards are shelved in Walter Library Room 206.
- ISO (International Organization for Standardization)ISO has set over twenty thousand standards have been set covering everything from manufactured products and technology to food safety, agriculture and healthcare
- Standards Research GuideSee the separate research guide on standards for a more complete list.
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2024 5:09 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/course/CEGE/8451