Professional Journalism

University of Maryland website with a focus on innovation in journalism and reporting.

Website and magazine from Columbia University that features stories on news, reporting, and the media industry.

Nationwide news service for lawyers and the news media.

Provides resources to nonprofit news organizations to help them produce and distribute stories with impact and achieve cost efficiencies.

Investigative Reporters and Editors publication covering legal rights, public records and news gathering.

Reports and press releases on media bias in mainstream media regarding conservative issues.

The UMN Social Welfare History Archives house the papers of the NNC, a nonprofit organization that considered complaints against the media and studied possible infringements on the freedom of the press.

Website from the City University of New York Graduate School of Journalism offers statistics and coverage of new business models of publishing.

National Press Photographers Association magazine for photojournalists interested in communicating news, identifying trends, delineating issues, and providing information.

Society of Professional Journalists website.
Access magazine via the library to search full text articles from Quill.

Public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues.

Pew Research Center on Journalism and Media does this annual report on the ownership of news and main sectors of media including newspapers, online, network, cable and local TV, magazines, radio and ethnic media.

Check out the full list of library resources for consumer and market research.

Monitors digital publishing, media, and marketing in the digital ecosystem.

International directory of newspapers that includes statistics and contact information for the U.S. and Canada. Includes dailies, weeklies, shopper publications and other niche markets by ethnic group and target audience ( real estate, parenting, seniors), college presses, syndicated news services, trade associations, and a buyers guide of equipment for the newspaper industry.

Publishing industry magazine and website.

Publishing industry magazine and website.

Publishing industry magazine and website.

Website and quarterly print publication from nonprofit foundation to promote standards of journalism.

Trade magazine for the book publishing industry that includes reviews, trends, digital innovations, and market analysis.

Newspapers for the Twin Cities metro region and other Minnesota locations

New America Media, Ethnic Media Association: A directory of ethnic newspapers, websites, and broadcasting organizations. Organized by ethnicity.