Health related statistics and data sources are increasingly available on the Internet. They can be found already neatly packaged, or as raw data sets. The most reliable data comes from governmental sources or health-care professional organizations.
US National Health Statistics
-
FASTSTATSNational Center for Health Statistics.
"The Faststats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages." -
GIS and Public HealthUse of the Geographical Information Systems (GIS)at the the National Center for Health Statistics. Generate selected maps to provide ways of revealing spatial and temporal relationships among data.
-
Green Book : Background Material and Data on Programs Within the Jurisdiction of the House Committee on Ways and Means"The House Ways and Means Committee Green Book provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation. It has become a standard reference work for those interested in the direction of social policy in the United States. It is compiled by the staff of the Committee on Ways and Means of the U.S. House of Representatives.
-
Health, United States : With Chartbook on Trends in the Health of Americans"Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. The report consists of two main sections: A chartbook containing text and figures that illustrates major trends in the health of Americans; and a trend tables section that contains 156 detailed data tables. The two main components are supplemented by an executive summary, a highlights section, an extensive appendix and reference section, and an index."
This site also contains the full texts of the Health, United States issues from 1975 to the present. Some issues include a special focus, such as urban & rural health (2001), drugs (2004) or diabetes (2003). -
HealthData.govSite is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
Information includes clinical care provider quality information, nationwide health service provider directories, databases of the latest medical and scientific knowledge, consumer product data, community health performance information, government spending data and much more. -
Healthy People"Healthy People provides science-based, national goals and objectives with 10-year targets designed to guide national health promotion and disease prevention efforts to improve the health of all people in the United States."
Access to Healthy People 2000 and Healthy People 2010 reports as well as links to the Healthy People 2020 initiative.
- Data2010
- ... the Healthy People 2010 database
DATA2010 is final as of October 2011. No further updates will occur after this.
- ... the Healthy People 2010 database
-
IPUMS: Integrated Public Use Microdata SeriesThe IPUMS project is a collaboration of the Minnesota Population Center, National Statistical Offices, and international data archives. Major funding is provided by the U.S. National Science Foundation and the Demographic and Behavioral Sciences Branch of the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. Additional support is provided by the University of Minnesota Office of the Vice President for Research and the Minnesota Population Center.
Minnesota Population Center datasets are available to researchers who complete an online registration form and agree to use the data responsibility.
- NHIS: IPUMS HEALTH SURVEYS
- The National Health Interview Survey is a survey collecting information on the health, health care access, and health behaviors of the civilian, non-institutionalized U.S. population, with digital data files available from 1963 to present. IPUMS Health Surveys harmonizes these data and allows users to create custom NHIS data extracts for analysis.(NHIS)
- IPUMS-USA
- IPUMS-USA is a project dedicated to collecting IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.
- IPUMS-CPS
- IPUMS CPS harmonizes microdata from the monthly U.S. labor force survey, the Current Population Survey (CPS), covering the period 1962 to the present. Data include demographic information, rich employment data, program participation and supplemental data on topics such as fertility, tobacco use, volunteer activities, voter registration, computer and internet use, food security, and more
- IPUMS-DHS (Demographic & Health Series)
- IPUMS-DHS facilitates analysis of Demographic and Health Surveys, administered in low- and middle-income countries since the 1980s. IPUMS-DHS contains thousands of consistently coded variables on the health and well-being of women, children, and births, for 22 African countries and India. Users can determine variable availability at a glance and create data files with just the variables and samples they need.
- IPUMS-International
- IPUMS-International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world. The project goals are to collect and preserve data and documentation, harmonize data, and disseminate the harmonized data free of charge.
- IPUMS: Time USE
- These projects provide free individual-level time use data for research purposes. The data extract systems make it easy to create data sets containing time use and other variables a user needs.
- NAPP: North Atlantic Population Project
- The North Atlantic Population Project (NAPP) harmonizes and disseminates nineteenth and early twentieth century census microdata. The collection includes data from Canada, Denmark, Great Britain, Germany, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, and the United States for the period 1703 to 1911.
- NHGIS: National Historical Geographic Information System
- The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present.
- IPUMS Terra: Integrated Population and Environmental Data
- IPUMS Terra integrates population and environmental data across disciplinary scientific domains, enabling research into dramatic transformations of human populations, the environment, and their interaction
-
National Center for Health StatisticsProvides surveys, data, vital statistics, state data and news. NCHS data systems include data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care.
- Major NCHS data sources.
- Longitudinal Studies of Aging
- Collaborative project of NCHS and the National Institute on Aging. A multicohort study of persons aged 70 years and older.
- National Health Care Surveys
- Designed to answer key questions of interest to health care policy makers, public health professionals and researchers.
- National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
- A nationwide examination survey designed to collect information about the health and diet of people in the United States.
- National Health Interview Survey
- Principal source of information on the health of the civilian non-institutionalized population. NHIS data are used to monitor trends in illness and disability and to track progress toward achieving national health objectives.
- National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG)
- Provides information on fertility, conception, family planning and women's reproductive health in the United States. The 2002 study included males aged 15 to 44 and covered topics similar to those addressed for females.
- National Vital Statistics System (NVSS)
- Collects and disseminates the Nation's official vital statistics on births, marriages, divorces and deaths.
- State and Local Area Integrated Telephone Survey (SLAITS)
- Collects key health care data at state and local levels through a variety of smaller surveys.
- Longitudinal Studies of Aging
- Interactive Data Tools and Query Systems
- Interactive tables and data
- Health Data Interactive
- NCHS Interactive Data Query Systems presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
Topics include: -- Health and functional status -- Health care use and expenditures -- Health conditions -- Health insurance and access -- Mortality and life expectancy -- Pregnancy and birth -- Risk factors and disease prevention
- NCHS Interactive Data Query Systems presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
- NCHS Survey Measures Catalog
- [Note: As of December 15, 2021, the NCHS Survey Measures Catalog has been retired]. Provides an overview of questions about child and adolescent mental health, and functioning and disability in various surveys of the NCHS Data Systems. Some of the survey measures are included in both the mental health section and the functioning and disability section of the catalog.
- Vital Statistics Online Data Portal
- A portal to the online data dissemination activities of the Division of Vital Statistics, including both interactive online data access tools and downloadable public use data files.
- Indian Health Service: Division of Program Statistics
- The Division of Program Statistics (DPS) produces the Indian Health Service's statistical information and publications that measure and document the progress in assuring access to health care services and improving the health status of the American Indian and Alaska Native populations we serve. The DPS data and publications are the most important tools to support the IHS's mission and goal. They are also the historical and foundational documents that will support the new health initiatives.
- Publications
- Indian Health Focus: Injuries
- Regional Differences in Indian Health
- Trends in Indian Health
- Publications
- The Division of Program Statistics (DPS) produces the Indian Health Service's statistical information and publications that measure and document the progress in assuring access to health care services and improving the health status of the American Indian and Alaska Native populations we serve. The DPS data and publications are the most important tools to support the IHS's mission and goal. They are also the historical and foundational documents that will support the new health initiatives.
- Injury Data and Resources
- The purpose of this Web site is to provide an overview of injury morbidity and mortality data and statistics available from the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and to provide details on injury surveillance methodology and tools to assist in data analysis.
- Life Tables
- Life tables are annual reports that track life expectancy in the United States each year by age, race and sex.
- National Death Index
- The National Death Index (NDI) is a centralized database of death record information on file in state vital statistics offices. Working with these state offices, the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) established the NDI as a resource to aid epidemiologists and other health and medical investigators with their mortality ascertainment activities.
- Public-Use Data Files and Documentation
- The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) offers downloadable public-use data files through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) FTP file server. Users of this service have access to data sets, documentation, and questionnaires from NCHS surveys and data collection systems. Downloading instructions are available in "readme" files.
Public-use data files are prepared and disseminated to provide access to the full scope of the data. This allows researchers to manipulate the data in a format appropriate for their analyses. NCHS makes every effort to release data collected through its surveys and data systems in a timely manner.
Users of NCHS public-use data files must comply with data use restrictions to ensure that the information will be used solely for statistical analysis or reporting purposes.
- The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) offers downloadable public-use data files through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) FTP file server. Users of this service have access to data sets, documentation, and questionnaires from NCHS surveys and data collection systems. Downloading instructions are available in "readme" files.
-
U.S. Census Bureau: HealthHealth statistics on insurance coverage, disability, fertility and other health issues.
-
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. Annual reports available through the Census website for 1878-2012. See ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. for 2013-present.
- Advanced Data from Vital and Health Statistics
- "These reports provide early release of data from the National Center for Health Statistics' health and demographic surveys. Many of these releases are followed by detailed reports in the Vital and Health Statistics series."
No.1 (1976) - present available in pdf format.
- "These reports provide early release of data from the National Center for Health Statistics' health and demographic surveys. Many of these releases are followed by detailed reports in the Vital and Health Statistics series."
- MMWR: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
- National and state data on notifiable diseases, as well as a review of a selected health problem. Issues: vol. 31(1982) - present.
Also includes --
- National and state data on notifiable diseases, as well as a review of a selected health problem. Issues: vol. 31(1982) - present.
-
- Surveillance Summaries vol. 32 (1983) - present.
The CDC Surveillance Summaries provide a means for CDC programs to disseminate surveillance findings, permitting detailed interpretation of trends and patterns based on those findings.
- Recommendations & Reports vol.39 (1990) - present
The MMWR Recommendations and Reports contain in-depth articles that relay policy statements for prevention and treatment on all areas in CDC's scope of responsibility (e.g., recommendations from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices).
- Surveillance Summaries vol. 32 (1983) - present.
- National Vital Statistics Report
- This title replaces the Monthly Vital Statistics Report (MVSR) effective with Vol. 47, No. 1.
Regular issues cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics.
Four to six special reports are issued per year. Special reports cover final data on births for the previous year, and special topic analyses are issued from time to time.
- This title replaces the Monthly Vital Statistics Report (MVSR) effective with Vol. 47, No. 1.
- Vital and Health Statistics Series : Note: Series 4-24 have been discontinued, but copies are available on the website. Series 1-3 are still active)
- Series 24. Compilations of Data on Natality, Mortality, Marriage, and Divorce
- Series 23. Data From the National Survey of Family Growth
- Series 22. Data From the National Mortality and Mortality Natality Surveys
- Series 21. Data on Natality, Marriage, and Divorce
- Series 20. Data on Mortality
- Series 16. Compilations of Advance Data From Vital and Health Statistics
- Series 15. Data From Special Surveys
- Series 14. Data on Health Resources: Manpower and Facilities
- Series 13. Data From the National Health Care Survey
- Series 12. Data From the Institutionalized Populations Surveys
- Series 11. Data From the National Health Examination Survey, the National Health and Nutrition Examination Surveys, and the Hispanic Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
- Series 10. Data From the National Health Interview Survey
- Series 6. Cognition and Survey Measurement
- Series 5. International Vital and Health Statistics Reports
- Series 4. Documents and Committee Reports
- Series 3. Analytical and Epidemiological Studies (As of 2015, Series 3 includes reports that would have previously been published in Series 5, 10-15, and 20-23.)
- Series 2. Data Evaluation and Methods Research
- Series 1. Programs and Collection Procedure
- Vital Statistics of the United States
- Annual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce.
Historical Volumes: 1890-1936
Bound Volumes: 1900-1984 and 1985-1993
Above volumes available for download
E-Only volumes: 1994-2000 -- Volumes produced only as download or CD-ROM
- Annual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce.
Last Updated: Nov 15, 2024 9:49 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/HealthStatistics