State, County and Metropolitan Level Statistics
-
America's Health RankingsUnited Health Foundation.
"America's Health Rankings" looks at the three public health components -- personal behaviors, community environment and health policies -- and at the overall health outcomes. It combines individual measures of each of these components with the resultant health outcomes into one, comprehensive view of the health of a state. It employs a unique methodology, developed and periodically reviewed by a panel of leading public health scholars, that weights the contributions of various factors, such as smoking, motor vehicle deaths, high school graduation rates, children in poverty, access to care and incidence of preventable disease, to a community's health. The report is based on data from the U.S. Departments of Health and Human Services, Commerce, Education and Labor, the National Safety Council and the National Association of State Budget Officers." -
County Health Rankings & RoadmapsThe County Health Rankings & Roadmaps program is a collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.
The annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America. The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play. They provide a starting point for change in communities.
Full national data sets are available for download.
- The core functions of the Center for Health Statistics include:
- The collection and analysis of health-related data
- The design and implementation of public health surveys
- The coordination of health data collection efforts at the state and local level
- The provision of technical assistance and consultation
- General statistics
-
County health tables: A compilation of public health statistics for Minnesota, its 87 counties, and its community health boards.
-
County-level health indicators: Indicators from across public health categories and from various data sources has to assist local public health in community health assessment and planning processes.
-
HEDA: Conducting a Health Equity Data Analysis: Information on how to think about and analyze data related to health equity, and a starting point for understanding how to document health inequities in Minnesota.
-
Annual summary of Minnesota health statistics: Annual data for the state of Minnesota, including population characteristics, live births, fertility, and deaths.
-
Vital Statistics Interactive Queries (new window): Customize online queries of birth, death, and population data, and produce data tables, charts, and maps.
-
Vital statistics trend reports for Minnesota, counties, and community health boards: Demographic, natality, and mortality trends for Minnesota, its 87 counties and community health boards.
-
- Minnesota County Health Profiles
- The Minnesota County Health Tables includes information on the following topics: Demographics; Natality; Mortality; Morbidity and Utilization; Chemical Health; Environmental Health; Minnesota Children with Special Health Needs
-
Health Care Workforce Data Portal
- provides data on Minnesota’s licensed healthcare workforce. Available data include provider demographics, geographic distribution, education, career plans, and practice characteristics on over 20 different licensed health care providers.
-
MN Community MeasurementThe mission of MN Community Measurement is to accelerate the improvement of health by publicly reporting health care information.
MNCM develops measures, collects data, and creates reports that drive improvement in health care. -
MNHealthScores is where you can find unbiased, trustworthy information on the quality of medical clinics, the experience you can expect to have as a patient, and the general cost you'll have to pay. You can find out how well patients were cared for and their experience at more than 1,400 clinics, 535 medical groups and 140 hospitals in Minnesota and surrounding states. You can learn the costs of various procedures and which medical groups are the most careful with your health care dollars.
MNHealthScores is brought to you by MN Community Measurement, an independent, non-profit community organization. Our mission is to accelerate the improvement of health by publicly reporting health care information. Since 2002, we have collected, analyzed and evaluated health care quality information from Minnesota doctors and clinics. We have published that information online for the public since 2004. We have facilitated the State of Minnesota's mandatory health care reporting program since 2008. And our work has repeatedly been recognized by federal programs and national organizations, including the National Quality Forum, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The information provided on MNHealthScores is objective, unbiased and validated. It cannot be manipulated by outside groups, including the clinics, medical groups and hospitals whose information is reported here. -
Minnesota Public Health Data AccessThe Minnesota Public Health Data Access Portal (also called the Data Access Portal) provides access to data on a variety of environmental and health topics.
All topics that the portal has data for are listed on the portal home page and the All Topics page. One tab shows all topics, listed alphabetically, and another shows them listed by category: diseases and conditions, environmental health, and health behaviors and risk factors.
Throughout the pages, you can hover the mouse pointer over some words and charts to get definitions of words, or to show the numbers for the data in charts.
Some topics have data that can be displayed in an interactive map. For these topics, there is a button on the Topic Page that says Map The Data. Clicking this button brings you to a special interactive data mapping page -
Patient Safety: Adverse Health Events in MInnesotaMinnesota Hospital Association.
Reporting of 106 adverse health events within Minnesota hospitals. Includes current report, previous report and summary information. -
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book"The Data Book contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States at the State and metropolitan area levels. Selected data for component counties and central cities of metropolitan areas are also included." 5th edition
New editions after 2011 terminated -
State Health ProfilesFocuses on key information regarding the nation's overall health status, distribution of federal health-care expenditures and services, and CDC's partnerships with the 50 states and DC. The web page is archived for historical purposes and is no longer being updated.
-
Statehealthfacts.orgStatehealthfacts.org is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and is designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on all 50 states. Statehealthfacts.org provides data on more than 500 health topics and is linked to both the Kaiser Family Foundation website (www.kff.org) and KaiserNetwork.org (www.kaisernetwork.org).