International Health Statistics
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics for Europe.
European health statistics measure both objective and subjective aspects of population's health. They cover different kinds of health-related issues in different sides of everybody's life, including key indicators on the functioning of the health care systems.
- Health status: self-reported health and morbidity, functional and activity limitations, injuries
- Health determinants: overweight and obesity, physical activity, dietary habits, risky behaviours such as tobacco and alcohol consumption
- Health care: health care expenditure, health care resources (staff and facilities) and activities (hospital and ambulatory services)
- Morbidity: diagnosis-specific morbidity (prevalence and incidence rates for defined diseases). This domain is under development.
- Disability: prevalence of disability, employment of disabled persons, barriers to the social integration of disabled persons
- Causes of death: national and regional mortality data by causes of death
- Accidents at work: incidence of accidents, causes of accidents
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation. The Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a catalog of global health and demographic data. The goal of the GHDx is to help people locate data by cataloging information about data including the topics covered, by providing links to data providers or explaining how to acquire the data, and in cases where we have permission, providing the data directly for download. Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health.
-
Global Health ObservatoryThe WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS) has been incorporated into the Global Health Observatory (GHO) to provide you with more data, more tools, more analysis and more reports.
- Country Statistics
- The country statistical pages bring together the main health data and statistics for each country, as compiled by WHO and partners in close consultation with Member States, and include descriptive and analytical summaries of health indicators for major health topics.
- Data Repository
- The GHO data repository contains an extensive list of indicators, which can be selected by theme or through a multi-dimension query functionality. It is the World Health Organization's main health statistics repository.
The GHO data repository provides access to over 50 datasets on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others. In addition, the GHO provides on-line access to WHO's annual summary of health-related data for its 194 Member states: the World Health Statistics 2012.
- The GHO data repository contains an extensive list of indicators, which can be selected by theme or through a multi-dimension query functionality. It is the World Health Organization's main health statistics repository.
- Map Gallery
- The GHO map gallery includes an extensive list of maps on major health topics.
-
HESonline: Hospital Episode Statistics"HES is the national statistical data warehouse for England of the care provided by NHS hospitals and for NHS hospital patients treated elsewhere. HES is the data source for a wide range of healthcare analysis for the NHS, government and many other organisations and individuals."
-
HNPStatsThe World Bank's Health, Nutrition and Population data platform.
"HNPStats is a one-stop data source for health, nutrition and population indicators from various national and international data sources. It provides direct access to more than 100 indicators, with time series for countries and country groups from 1960 to the most recent year, where data are available." -
Human Mortality DatabaseCreated to provide detailed mortality and population data to researchers, students, journalists, and policy analysts. Contains information from 28 countries. Data is free to use, but does require registration. From a project initiated at the Department of Demography at the University of California, Berkeley and the Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research.
-
Mortality and global health estimates: Life expectancy & Life TablesWorld Health Organization (WHO)interactive tables that are downloadable to Excel
-
National Health Service: The Information Centre: Statistics & Data CollectionsThe NHS Information Centre is England's central, authoritative source of health and social care information for frontline decision makers.
-
Nationmaster.com: Health StatisticsA website that allows users to generate graphs based on numerical data extracted from the CIA World Factbook. Data from other sources are also included.
Provides nation comparative statistics on a wide range of health indicators. Each indicator may be viewed as a bar chart or map, with some indicators also available as pie charts -
Office for National Statistics: Health and Social CareThe Office for National Statistics (ONS) is the UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and is the recognised national statistical institute for the UK. It is responsible for collecting and publishing statistics related to the economy, population and society at national, regional and local levels. It also conducts the census in England and Wales every ten years. ONS plays a leading role in national and international good practice in the production of official statistics. It is the executive office of the UK Statistics Authority and although they are separate, they are still closely related.
-
Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD): Health StatisticsThe OECD has been one of the world's largest and most reliable sources of comparable statistics, and economic and social data. As well as collecting data, the OECD monitors trends, analyses and forecasts economic developments and researches social changes or evolving patterns in trade, environment, agriculture, technology, taxation and more.
Sample and frequently requested data available for free. Complete down-loadable database requires a fee.
- Health Data
- Core indicators, health analysis, mortality and health topics.
-
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)"The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) is an international public health agency with 100 years of experience in working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System. It also serves as the Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization and enjoys international recognition as part of the United Nations system."
-
Population Reference Bureau: Datafinder"The Population Reference Bureau informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations."
The Datafinder "contains data on 137 population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole. (Not all countries have data on all variables.)" -
Statistical Agencies (International)List maintained by the Census Bureau of international statistical offices, agencies and departments
-
Statistics: Department of Health UKHealth statistics from the Department of Health, United Kingdom.
-
U. S. Census Bureau International Data Base (IDB)The International Data Base (IDB) is a computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.
-
Demographic and Health SurveysThe MEASURE DHS STATcompiler allows users to make custom tables based on hundreds of demographic and health indicators across more than 70 countries. Customize tables to view indicators by background characteristics, over time, and across countries.
-
World FactbookProduced by the CIA, includes brief health statistics of over 200 countries and is continuously updated.
- Emerging Infectious Diseases
- Emerging Infectious Diseases is published monthly by the National Center for Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
- EuroSurveillance
- Peer-reviewed European information on communicable disease surveillance and control. Portions are updated weekly, monthly and quarterly.
The Weekly Epidemiological Record (WER) serves as an essential instrument for the rapid and accurate dissemination of epidemiological information on cases and outbreaks of diseases under the International Health Regulations and on other communicable diseases of public health importance, including the newly emerging or re-emerging infections.