Health Statistics and Data Sources

Children

• Birth Defects
  • Data & Statistics on Birth Defects (CDC).  National statistics on the occurrence of birth defects in the United States.  Specific birth defects are broken out into individual pages.
  • Birth defects: Minnesota Public Health Data Portal
• Child Development Data & Statistics
  • CDC
•  Child Health 
  • World Health Organization
• ChildTrends databank
  • The Child Trends DataBank is an online resource for indicators of child and family well-being and associated measures. The DataBank includes close to 100 population-based measures, covering the domains of health and safety, child care and education, and behaviors linked to positive and negative well-being.

• ChildStats.gov 
  • The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, or the Forum, is a working group of Federal agencies that collect, analyze, and report data on issues related to children and families.

    "This web site offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education. The Forum fosters coordination, collaboration, and integration of Federal efforts to collect and report data on conditions and trends for children and families."

•  Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health 
  • The Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health is a project of the Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI) supported by Cooperative Agreement 1-U59-MC06980-01 from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).
• FastStats: Child Health 
  • Centers For Disease Control
• Kids Count Data Center and Data Book
  • Offers data on more than 100 child well-being indicators on the national, State, and local level. Also includes the KIDS COUNT Data Book(opens in new window), which provides information and State rankings of performance on multiple child well-being indicators.  Annie E. Casey Foundation
•  UNICEF Statistics 

 

Enviromental  

• Data Resources

  • National Center for Environmental Health. provides a reference list of nationally funded data systems that have a relationship to environmental public health. 

• Envirofacts Data Warehouse

  • Provides access to several EPA databases to provide information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. Can also generate maps of environmental information.

Maternal & Infant Health  

• Maternal Health
  • WHO.
    • Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent Health Data Portal
    • Maternal Mortality: Levels & Trends 2000-2017
      • interactive
• PeriStats 
  • March of Dimes

    Provides free access to US, state, county, and city maternal & infant health data. Contains over 60,000 graphs, maps and tables.

• Reproductive Health: Data & Statistics

  • CDC

    The major surveillance systems in the division include the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS), the National ART Surveillance System (NASS), and the Pregnancy Mortality Surveillance System (PMSS). CDC also collaborated with organizations to develop the Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) Case Registry, which seeks to improve population-based SUID surveillance in grantee states. Reports are generated from these systems on a routine ongoing basis. DRH also monitors teen pregnancy and the number and characteristics of women obtaining legal induced abortions in the United States.

•  Vital Statistics Online 
  • From the National Center for Health Statistics, a collection of vital statistics products including tables, data files, and reports that allow users to access and examine vital statistics and population data interactively.

    Currently only births and perinatal mortality is available.

Health Care Costs and Utilization

•  Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality: Archives 
  • AHRQ's Archive contains outdated information that may be useful for historical or research interest.

    This includes historical reports on hospitalization, diagnosis, prevalence, treatment, screening, disparities, effectiveness and costs.

• Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care 
  • "For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide comprehensive information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as individual hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

    These reports, used by policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others, have radically changed our understanding of the efficiency and effectiveness of our health care system. This valuable data forms the foundation for many of the ongoing efforts to improve health and health systems across America.

    This website provides access to all Atlas reports and publications, as well as interactive tools to allow visitors to view specific regions and perform their own comparisons and analyses.

• Data.Medicare.gov 
  • Wealth of data-sets on home health care, hospital compare, healthcare supplier data, and more.

• HCUPnet 
  • "HCUPnet is an on-line query system that gives access to the largest set of all-payer health care databases that are publicly available. Generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the U.S. In addition, community hospital data are available for those States that have agreed to participate in HCUPnet.

    HCUPnet is part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUPnet generates statistics using data from HCUP's Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS), the Kids' Inpatient Database (KID), and the State Inpatient Databases (SID).

    HCUP data are used for research on hospital utilization, access, charges, quality and outcomes. The data are used to describe patterns of care for uncommon as well as common diseases, to analyze hospital procedures, including those that are performed infrequently, and to study the care of population sub-groups such as minorities, children, women, and the uninsured. Researchers and policymakers use HCUP data to identify, track, analyze and compare hospital statistics at the national, regional and State levels. 

• Hospital Compare 
  • Tool provides information on how well the hospitals in an area care for all their adult patients with certain medical conditions. Helps compare the quality of care hospitals provide. Hospital Compare was created through the efforts of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and organizations that represent hospitals, doctors, employers, accrediting organizations, other Federal agencies and the public.

•  [Medicare/Medicaid] Research, Statistics, Data & Systems 
  • Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS).

    Data and analysis on health care plans, expenditures, program rates, trends, consumer research and more.

•  MEPS: Medical Expenditure Panel Survey 
  • The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the U.S. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

    MEPS currently has two major components: the Household Component and the Insurance Component. The Household Component provides data from individual households and their members, which is supplemented by data from their medical providers. The Insurance Component is a separate survey of employers that provides data on employer-based health insurance.

    MEPS also includes a Medical Provider Component (MPC), which covers hospitals, physicians, home health care providers, and pharmacies identified by MEPS-HC respondents. Its purpose is to supplement and/or replace information received from the MEPS-HC respondents.

  • Data & Statistics 

    • Links to various statistical summaries, query tools, downloadable data files and projected expenditures for the Household Component of the MEPS survey; as well as information for the Medical Provider component, insurance component and nursing home component.
  • Publications
    • Search for chartbooks, methodology reports, statistical briefs and working papers.
  • Minnesota Hospital Quality Report 
    • Gives a snapshot of hospitals' performance in three key areas: heart attack, heart failure and pneumonia. Can quickly see how often a particular Minnesota hospital provides the care that is expected when patients have one of these three conditions. Can also easily compare how different hospitals perform.
  •  National Center for Health Workforce Analysis 
    • Health Workforce Data 
    • Area Health Resource Files 
      • The Area Health Resources Files (AHRF) data are designed to be used by planners, policymakers, researchers, and others interested in the nation’s health care delivery system and factors that may impact health status and health care in the United States. The AHRF data includes county, state, and national-level files in eight broad areas: Health Care Professions, Health Facilities, Population Characteristics, Economics, Health Professions Training, Hospital Utilization, Hospital Expenditures, and Environment. The AHRF data are obtained from more than 50 sources.
    •  National Hospital Discharge Survey 
      • The NHDS collects data from a sample of approximately 270,000 inpatient records acquired from a national sample of about 500 hospitals.

        "The medical abstract form and the automated data tapes contain items that relate to the personal characteristics of the patient. These items include age, sex, race, ethnicity, marital status, and expected sources of payment. Administrative items such as admission and discharge dates (which allow calculation of length of stay), as well as discharge status are also included. Medical information about patients includes diagnoses and procedures coded to the International Classification of Diseases, 9th Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM)."

    •  Safety Net Profile Tool 
      • The Safety Net Monitoring Initiative has been archived, but all data is available.

        Access to all the data included in the Safety Net Monitoring Initiative. 118 measures are available for 30 States and the District of Columbia, including 355 counties and 172 cities in 90 metropolitan areas, as well as all 1,818 counties (both metropolitan and non-metropolitan) in those States. The Profile Tool will guide you step-by-step to obtain the statistics you need, and can be used to generate reports that compare multiple measures for one or more geographic areas.

    • SHADAC: State Health Access Data Assistance Center 
      • The University of Minnesota's State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC) is funded by The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to help states monitor rates of health insurance coverage, understand factors associated with access to care, and to utilize data for implementation of health reform. In addition to providing health policy analysis, SHADAC provides technical assistance to federal agencies that conduct health insurance surveys, and states that conduct their own surveys and/or use data from national surveys. Our goal is to help bridge the gap between health insurance data and the policy making process. SHADAC produces timely and targeted health policy research with a focus on deriving lessons from state variations in policy and outcomes in the national context. SHADAC maintains an ongoing research agenda related to issues of health insurance coverage and access to care, data collection methods, and state health policy.

Health Disparities  

• Data Query
  • Data Query is an interactive tool that allows you to access national and State data from the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports. You can search for data or trends based on particular subject areas, topics, or measures..  National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports.  
• Health Disparities Calculator
  • The Health Disparities Calculator (HD*Calc) is statistical software designed to generate multiple summary measures to evaluate and monitor health disparities (HD). HD*Calc was created as an extension of SEER*Stat that allows the user to import SEER data or other population-based health data, such as National Health Survey sample data from the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) or the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), and calculate any of eleven disparity measures.
• Health System Data Center
  • Explore state health system performance and policy data through custom tables, graphs and maps. The Commonweath Fund. 
•  
• AHRQ: National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • NCHS Data on Racial and Ethnic Disparities
• Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
  • Health care disparities data
• World Health Organization
  • Health Inequality Data Repository 

Health Surveys

• IPLUMS Health Surveys

  • IPUMS Health Surveys provide free individual-level survey data for research purposes from two leading sources of self-reported health and health care access information: the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS).

• National Health Interview Survey

  • Data, Questionnaires and Related Documentation: NHIS collects data on a broad range of health topics are collected through personal household interviews.

• USAID: Demographic and Health surveys

  • The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.
• Rand: Health care surveys

  • RAND's researchers and survey experts have developed numerous health-related surveys. Available for free in the public domain, these surveys are designed for a wide range of purposes, including assessing patients' health, screening for mental health conditions, and measuring quality of care and quality of life. Many of these surveys are intended for the general population, but can be tailored to specific groups, such as the elderly, Medicaid recipients, veterans, and families with small children.

Injuries and Accidents

• Accident Statistics: Boating Safety
  • U.S. Coast Guard.
• Clearninghouse Online Query Tool
  • Consumer Product Safety Commission.

    The CPSC National Injury Information Clearinghouse (Clearinghouse) provides incident data involving consumer products from various data sources and publishes incident reports involving consumer products that meet eligibility criteria on www.saferproducts.gov. The Clearinghouse provides updates on the status of reports and works with those reporting consumer product related incidents to meet publication eligibility. In addition, the Clearinghouse also disseminates information relating to the prevention of death and injury associated with consumer products.

• Injuries, Illness and Fatalities 
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics

    The Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (IIF) program provides data on illnesses and injuries on the job and data on worker fatalities. Includes customize data tables, publications and overviews

• National Center for Health Statistics: Injury Data and Resources
  • The purpose of this Web site is to provide an overview of injury morbidity and mortality data and statistics available from the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and other sources and to provide details on injury surveillance methodology and tools to assist in data analysis.
  • International Collaborative Effort (ICE) on Injury Statistics
    • To provide a forum for international exchange and collaboration among injury researchers who develop and promote international standards in injury data collection and analysis.
  • NCHS Data Bases
    • Some of the databases included: Mortality Data / Hospital Inpatient Discharge Data / Emergency Department Visit Data / Health Interview Data and more.
• National Center for Injury Prevention and Control
  • Facts, data and publications.
  • WISQARS
    • National Center for Injury Prevention and Control

      WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data.

• National Center for Statistics and Analysis of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
  • Provides statistics on the number of traffic-related injuries and fatalities. Includes the Traffic Safety Annual Report and the State Traffic Safety Information Website.
  • Fatatlity Analysis Reporting System (FAS)
    • "The Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) contains data on all vehicle crashes in the United States that occur on a public roadway and involve a fatality. This FARS Query System provides interactive public access to fatality data through this web interface."

      Includes reports on trends, crashes, vehicles, people and states and a search-able database.

  • State Traffic Safety Information Website
    • "STSI is a by-State profile of traffic safety data and information including: crash statistics, economic costs, legislation status, funding programs, et al."

• OSH.net: Accident/Injury Statistics
  • Directory of links to sites with accident/injury statistics
• Public Transportation Safety and Security Statistics
  • American Public Transportation Association.

    Reports fatalities and injuries that occur on public transit systems. All data is United States.

• TransStats
  • Bureau of Transportation Statistics
  • Statistical Products and Data
    • National Transportation Statistics
      • See sections on air, highway, transit, railroad and water safety.

Minority Health

• National Institute on Minority Health & Disparities
  • Reports and data sources
• Office of Minority Health
  • Minority Population Profiles
• Kaiser Family Foundation
  • Racial Equity and Health Policy 
    • Data dashboard 
    • KFF’s Racial Equity and Health Data Dashboard gathers key data documenting inequities and the factors driving them.
    • Key Data on Health and Health Care by Race and Ethnicity
• Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services: Office of Minority Health
  • Research & data 

Mortality  

•  Atlas of United States Mortality
  • "Released to the public on April 14, 1997. This atlas shows all leading causes of death by race and sex for small U.S. geographic areas referred to as Health Service Areas (HSA's). The 18 causes of death included in this atlas account for 83 percent of all deaths in the United States during 1988-92. In addition to maps with age-adjusted death rates for each HSA, the atlas includes maps that compare each HSA rate to the national rate, smoothed maps for each cause that show the broad geographic patterns at selected ages, and a chart with regional rates for each cause of death."
• NCI Cancer Atlas 
  • The NCI Cancer Atlas is a tool that allows users to create maps of cancer statistics, demographics, and risk factors.
• Cancer Mortality Statistics
  • SEER.cancer.gov
• Causes of Death
  • Our World in Data
  • Includes causes of death by category, age, cause and risk factors
• Compressed Mortality File 
  • CDC Wonder.

    Underlying Cause-Of-Death for years 1968-2016.

    Contains mortality and population counts for all U.S. counties. Counts and rates of death can be obtained by underlying cause of death, state, county, age, race, sex, and year.

• FastStats: Death and Mortality
  • CDC
• WHO Mortality Database 
  • The WHO Mortality Database is a compilation of mortality data by age, sex and cause of death, as reported annually by Member States from their civil registration systems.