Health Statistics Meta-Sites
-
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Data & StatisticsTopics include: Births, deaths & marriages; FastStats A-Z; Growth charts; Monitoring Systems & Statistical Databases; National data; State data; Surveys & Data Collection systems.
Key resources: Injury maps; Research data center; Data warehouse; Workplace data & statistics; Heath-E stats; Statistical Export & Tabulation System (SETS).
- CDC Wonder
- CDC WONDER presents an array of health related data sets. Each data set can be queried using a series of menus.
Document collections, such as CDC Prevention Guidelines, are presented in a topic list or table of contents. In some cases, a full text search option is available as well.
Statistical databases and document databases are presented in a series of "fill in the blanks" request forms. You fill in the forms to specify the criteria for your data request, and then send the request to be processed. If the system is delayed processing your request, however, some queries allow you to retrieve your results later, or you can have them e-mailed to you.
Topics include: Chronic diseases; Health practice & prevention; Communicable diseases; Injury prevention; Environmental health; Occupational health; Reference data. Can create charts, maps, etc. Data can be used in Word documents/Excel spreadsheets, etc.
- CDC WONDER presents an array of health related data sets. Each data set can be queried using a series of menus.
- Data.CDC.gov
- A repository for selected CDC data that can be visualized and syndicated to external sites. While most of this data is already available through various other CDC websites and applications, Data.CDC.gov provides a central way to search and discover data and allows for visualizations (e.g., charts, maps, and filtered views), and syndication. The Data.CDC.gov team is actively working to collect and offer more data on the site to aid in the increased use and distribution of health-related data.
-
MedlinePlus: Health StatisticsMedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
Includes overviews, specific conditions, related issues, organizations, children, men, women and seniors
-
ResDAC: Research Data Assistance Center"The Research Data Assistance Center (ResDAC) is a CMS contractor that provides free assistance to academic, government and non-profit researchers interested in using Medicare and/or Medicaid data for their research. ResDAC is staffed by a consortium of epidemiologists, public health specialists, health services researchers, biostatisticians, and health informatics specialists from the University of Minnesota."
- Find a CMS Data File
- By category, program, privacy level and list of top requested sites.
- This section will provide you with resources for preparing and submitting your CMS data request. CMS maintains three different categories of data files that can be used for research including Research identifiable, Limited Data Sets, and Public Use files. Select the links under the CMS Data Request Center navigation bar to review the request process and materials necessary to submit a request for data under each category.
- Read more on this topic from the article, "Differences between RIF, LDS, and PUF Data Files".
- By category, program, privacy level and list of top requested sites.