Creating Patient Education Materials

"Free" Clipart: These are image collections that are free for educational use. Please carefully read the copyright notices and disclaimers before use - some sites have detailed instructions and conditions on use of the images.

• Wellcome Images 
  Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science. All low resiolution images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use, under one of two Creative Commons licenses. For further details please see our Terms of Use. Hi-res historical images are also available to download from this site free of charge, for any usage, under a Creative Commons Attribution Only – CC-BY license. Requires creation of account.
• USP Pictograms 
  USP Pictograms are standardized graphic images that help convey medication instructions, precautions, and/or warnings to patients and consumers. Pictograms are particularly helpful in passing on important information to patients with a lower level reading ability and patients for whom English is a second language. USP offers 81 pictograms in .gif or .eps format. You can download the entire pictogram library after accepting our license agreement.
•  Healthcare Symbols
  • Download a PDF of the full set of Universal Symbols for Healthcare for use in your projects. File can be opened in Illustrator for vector art usage.
  • Universal Symbols in Health Care: developing a symbols-based way finding system: implementation guide.  Produced by Hablamos Juntos.
• Public Health Image Library 
  Public Health Image Library (PHIL) is an extensive collection of still images, image sets, and multimedia files related to public health.
• Nursing Graphics 
  The Student Nurse Forum
• HHS Image Galleries 
  • National Cancer Institute Visuals Online
    • Images with captions from the National Cancer Institute
  • National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disease Media Library
    • The NIDDK Media Library is a searchable database of images produced by the NIDDK that are available copyright free to the public at no cost. Please credit each image as: National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, National Institutes of Health.
  • National Eye Institute Media Library: Photos, Images & Video 
    • Items here are not copyrighted. However, credit as follows: National Eye Institute, National Institutes of Health (except where indicated otherwise).
  • National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Image Gallery 
    • View and search the NIGMS database of photos, illustrations, and videos. All images are available for download free of charge.
  • National Institute of Mental Health Image Library 
    • A searchable database of photographs and illustrations that are available, copyright free, to the public at no cost.
  • National Library of Medicine : Images From the History of Medicine
    • Over 60,000 images including portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media
  • Several NIH institutes have migrated images over to Flickr
    • National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases 
    • National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal Diseases 
    • National Institute of Drug Abuse 
    • National Human Genomic Research Institute
  • Open-i: Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
    • Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. Searching may be done using text queries as well as query images. Open-i provides access to over 3.7 million images from about 1.2 million PubMed Central^® articles; 7,470 chest x-rays with 3,955 radiology reports; 67,517 images from NLM History of Medicine collection; and 2,064 orthopedic illustrations.
• Medical Clipart and Graphics 
  Classroomclipart.com/Medical. Clipart available free of charge for educational purposes. Be sure to read the copyright agreement before using.
• HEAL: Health Education Assets Library 
  The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library that provides freely accessible digital teaching materials. Requires free registration.
• Food Clipart, Illustrations - Graphics
  Classroomclipart.com. Clipart available free of charge for educational purposes. A variety of Food related clipart such as Fruits, Vegetables, Seafood, Fast Food, Dairy Clipart, Ice cream, desserts and more.Also view related Food Clipart categories.  Be sure to read the copyright agreement before using.
• Public Domain Vectors
  Publicdomainvectors.org, offers copyright-free vector images in popular .eps, .svg, .ai and .cdr formats.To the extent possible under law, uploaders on this site have waived all copyright to their vector images. You are free to edit, distribute and use the images for unlimited commercial purposes without asking permission. Although absolutely not required, they appreciate every link back or mention of their website.  Use to the search box for medical, healthcare, food, nutrition, nursing, etc. images.

SMART: Servier Medical Art
3000 free medical images to illustrate publications and powerpoint presentations.  Provided by Les Laboratories Servier, with Creative Commons attribution 3.0 unported license requirement.

Fee-Based Clipart: Commercial images available on a fee-based service. This is not an endorsement of these companies, just a representation of some of the larger ones available via the web. Please check copyright notices and disclaimers before use.

• Medical Imagery: Medical Arts & Graphics 
  Medical Imagery provides an on-line catalog of images that can be used as stock art.
• ClipArt.com 
  Largest subscription based royalty-free graphics website. Thousands of illustrations.
• Can Stock Photo 
• Nucleus Medical Art 
  A full-service creative studio specializing in developing and licensing medical illustrations, medical animations, interactive media and other communications tools for the healthcare market. The company maintains a proprietary database of more than 15,000 highly detailed, expert reviewed medical illustrations and animations.