GCC 3031/5031: The Global Climate Challenge: Creating an Empowered Movement for Change

The failure of recent international negotiations to progress global action on climate change has shifted attention to the emergence of grassroots sustainability initiatives. These civil society networks display the potential to implement social innovation and change processes from the ‘bottom up’. Recent scholarship has sought to theorise grassroots community-based low carbon practices in terms of their sustainability transition potential. However there are few empirical examples that demonstrate the factors for success of community-based social innovations in achieving more widespread adoption outside of their local, sustainability ‘niche’.

Love in a Time of Climate Change challenges readers to develop a loving response to climate change, which disproportionately harms the poor, threatens future generations, and damages God's creation. This book creatively adapts John Wesley's theological method by using scripture, tradition, reason, and experience to explore the themes of creation and justice in the context of the earth's changing climate. By consciously employing these four sources of authority, readers discover a unique way to reflect on planetary warming theologically and to discern a faithful response. The book's premise is that love of God and neighbor in this time of climate change requires us to honor creation and establish justice for our human family, for future generations, and for all creation. From the introduction: As we entrust our lives to God, we are enabled to join with others in the movement for climate justice and to carry a unified message of healing, love, and solidarity as we live into God's future, offering hope in the midst of the climate crisis that 'another world is possible.' God is ever present, always with us. Love never ends.

This book discusses the agency and responsibility of individuals in climate change, and argues that these are underemphasized, enabling individuals to maintain their consumptive lifestyles without having to accept moral responsibility for their luxury emissions.

The 2015 Paris Agreement on climate change marked a reset of global climate policy, but was jeopardised by the partisan nature of the debates. In this unique overview, Aynsley Kellow suggests that global policy on climate change should have started with the Paris Agreement, and that almost a quarter of a century has been wasted following the wrong path.Looking critically at the interplay between interests, science, and global norms, Negotiating Climate Change shows how the initial selection of the wrong 'metapolicy' hindered the development of global climate policy. Examining key debates, and the problems which arose from them, Kellow exposes the failings of the Kyoto Process and the subsequent issues raised in the negotiations culminating in the Paris Agreement.Providing analysis of the failings of past decades as well as looking towards the future of climate policy, this book will be invaluable to advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students of global environmental politics, environmental governance and international relations, as well as for policy workers in agencies involved in climate policy.

The existence and urgency of global climate change is a matter of scientific consensus. Yet the global politics of climate change have been anything but consensual. In this context, a wave of global climate activism has emerged in the last decade in response to the perceived failure of the political negotiations. This book provides a unique comparative study of environmental movements in USA, Japan, Denmark and Sweden, analyzing their interaction with the international climate institutions of the United Nations, with national governments, and with currents in the global climate movement. It documents how and why the movement evolved between the Copenhagen Summit of 2009 and the Paris Summit of 2015, altering its strategies and tactics while attracting new actors to the issue area.

Climate justice requires sharing the burdens and benefits of climate change and its resolution equitably and fairly. It brings together justice between generations and justice within generations. The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals summit in September 2015, and the Conference of Parties to the Framework Convention on Climate Change in Paris in December 2015, brought climate justice center stage in global discussions. In the run up to Paris, Mary Robinson, former president of Ireland and the UN Secretary General’s Special Envoy for Climate Change, instituted the Climate Justice Dialogue. The editors of this volume, an economist and a philosopher, served on the High Level Advisory Committee of the Climate Justice Dialogue. They noted the overlap and mutual enforcement between the economic and philosophical discourses on climate justice. But they also noted the great need for these strands to come together to support the public and policy discourse. This volume is the result.

This edited collection explores a diverse range of climate (in)justice case studies from the Majority World - where most of humans and non-humans live. It is also the site of the most severe impacts of climate change and home to some of the key solutions for the climate crisis. The collection brings together twelve chapters featuring the work of over thirty authors from around the globe. The impacts of climate change are disproportionately affecting individuals, communities, and countries in the Majority World who historically have contributed little to rising global temperatures. The twelve chapters focus on a range of cross-cutting themes, demonstrating both individual and collective experiences of climate change and struggles for achieving climate justice from the Majority World. This includes activism, resistance, and social movement organising in India and Brazil, lived experiences and understandings of frontline communities in Bangladesh and South Africa, consequences of and responses to disasters in Mozambique and Puerto Rico, and contested accounts, narratives, and futures in the Maldives and Pakistan, among other topics. By adopting a decolonial lens, this book provides rich empirical content, insightful comparisons, and novel conceptual interventions. It foregrounds climate justice from an intersectional perspective and contributes to the ongoing efforts by scholars and activists to address epistemic injustice in climate change research, policy and practice.

"The Routledge Handbook of Grassroots Climate Activism introduces contemporary forms of grassroots climate activism from around the world through the lenses of a variety of academic disciplines, methodologies, and perspectives. Focusing on bottom-up case studies, it showcases innovative and creative approaches, as well as the knowledge of those working towards swift decarbonisation, just transitions, and climate justice. Grassroots climate activism presents a rich body of material to be studied not only by anthropologists, sociologists, geographers, and political scientists, but also by scholars in the humanities and the creative arts. This timely handbook explores climate activism across six continents, and it provides perspectives from climate activists themselves. The authors interrogate a range of key questions: what forms of mobilisation, organisation, and practice constitute grassroots climate activism, and how have these changed over the last decade? What are the boundaries of the climate movement and how does it interact with, or differ from, other social movements? How do activists engage with the moral dimensions of the climate crisis? How do grassroots engagements with climate struggles give shape to plural, site-specific, but nonetheless interconnected, forms of climate activism? What tools do climate activists use to create functioning and effective local, national, and transnational networks? How has climate activism been impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic? What is the relationship between critical scholarship and climate activism? What methodologies are particularly effective for studying climate activism, and why?

"This timely and urgent collection brings together cutting-edge interdisciplinary scholarship and ideas from around the world to present critical examinations of climate coloniality. Confronting Climate Coloniality exposes how legacies of colonialism, imperialism, and capitalism co-produce and exacerbate the climate crisis, create disproportionate impacts on those who contributed the least to climate change, and influence global and local responses. Climate coloniality is perpetuated through processes of neoliberalism, racial capitalism, development interventions, economic growth models, media, and education. Confronting climate coloniality entails decolonizing climate discourses and governance, challenging the dominant framings and policies, interrogating material, geopolitical, and institutional arrangements for tackling the climate crisis, and centering Global South and Indigenous knowledge, experiences, strategies, and solutions. Confronting Climate Coloniality: Decolonizing Pathways for Climate Justice provides critical insights and strategies for transformative action and fosters deeper understandings of the structural injustices entangled with climate change in governance, framings, policies, responses, and praxis.

In the rapidly evolving landscape of technology, innovation, and sustainability, there is a growing need to explore advanced research trends that shape our understanding and implementation of solutions for a sustainable future. Emerging fields such as renewable energy, artificial intelligence (AI), and circular economy principles are at the forefront of this exploration, driving transformative changes across industries. Understanding these trends allows us to create resilient solutions to promote economic growth, environmental protection, and social well-being. This commitment to innovation and sustainability will be essential for fostering a balanced and prosperous future. Advanced Research Trends in Sustainable Solutions, Data Analytics, and Security introduces new research trends that could change how we perceive, use, and integrate technology in a rapidly changing world. It advances the understanding of how technology and innovation can contribute to sustainable development, fostering interdisciplinary collaborations that transcend traditional boundaries, and inspiring actionable initiatives that address global challenges. Covering topics such as artificial intelligence (AI), green infrastructure, and sustainable tourism, this book is an excellent resource for researchers, practitioners, policymakers, academicians, and more.