- Use Background Information and Reference resource to find background information on your author and/or the author's work. Generally, these aren't cited in research papers. But these background/reference resources can lead you to references to scholarly articles and books.
- Find scholarly article using the Databases for Scholarly Articles. Many of these will give you the option to limit results to peer-reviewed sources.
- Find books using Libraries Search. Use the limits on the right to limit to "books" or if you just want eBooks "books" and "online". See Tips for Using Libraries Search and Catalog.
Background Information and Reference
Useful Books on German Literature
Tips for Using Libraries Search and Catalog
Libraries Search will search many article databases, the UMN Library Catalog and other resources. But it doesn't search everything. You may want to search subject specific article databases to find more articles and for more search options.
To limit by language, format, or subject, use the limits on the right after performing a search in Libraries Search.
You don't need to include umlauts. "Heinrich Boll" will bring up "Heinrich Böll".
For general criticism on an author, search using the author's first and last name and the term "criticism" as a SUBJECT. For example: christa wolf criticism
For criticism on a particular work, search using the author's first and last name and workds from the original title as a SUBJECT. For example, to find books on Thomas Mann's Death in Venice, I would search thomas mann tod in venedig
Databases for Scholarly Articles
Click "view online," "PDF," or the button to connect to the full text if we have it. The will also indicate whether a print copy is held in the Libraries. If not available, request the item via Interlibrary Loan.
Language Dictionaries & Reference
Citing your sources (e.g. MLA, APA, etc.)
Many article databases (e.g. Academic Search Premier, Google Scholar) will create a citation for you. After you found the item, look for "cite" or "quotes." Here are examples:
In Google Scholar:
In Academic Search Premier:
Learn more about on annotated bibliographies
An annotated bibliography is an organized list of sources, each of which is followed by a brief note or “annotation.”