COVID-19: Dentistry

PubMed Search

PubMed Covid-19 selected articles (requires authentication) for dental faculty, practitioners, researchers, professionals, and students. The selected article lists updates daily and focuses on COVID-19 in the dental practices or dental setting. 

The linked search above is based on a search strategy developed by Dean Giustini at UBC and pubmedsearches.blogspot.com and Natalie Clairoux at Université de Montréal, Bibliothèque de la santé).

Search Strategy

If you want to set up your own alert you can cut and paste the revised strategy below. 

(((("Dental Facilities"[Mesh])) OR ((dentist* OR dental OR endodont* OR orthodonti* OR periodont* OR prosthodont*))) AND (((((((("severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2"[Supplementary Concept] OR "severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2"[All Fields]) OR "2019 ncov"[All Fields]) OR "2019nCoV"[All Fields]) OR (((("covid 19"[All Fields] OR "severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2"[Supplementary Concept]) OR "severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2"[All Fields]) OR "2019 ncov"[All Fields]) OR "sars cov 2"[All Fields])) OR (("severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2"[Supplementary Concept] OR "severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2"[All Fields]) OR "sars cov 2"[All Fields])) OR (("wuhan"[All Fields] AND (("coronavirus"[MeSH Terms] OR "coronavirus"[All Fields]) OR "coronaviruses"[All Fields])) AND 2019/12/1 : 2030/12/31[Date - Publication]))))) AND English[lang]

Comprehensive Guide

The guide below is intended for health sciences researchers, educators, clinicians, and students seeking various types of information about COVID-19 or novel coronavirus.

Evidence-Base Dentistry (the journal)

This issue (v.21:no.2, June 2020) attempts to analyze all the best evidence about COVID-19, its effects on dental patients and practice, and the steps we need to take to mitigate risk, provide dental care and keep ourselves, our staff and our patients, safe.

Start a Research Project

Library Research Checklist (https://libguides.umn.edu/LibraryResearchChecklist)

This page provides a step-by-step description of the process.

Search Strategy Checklist and Tips (https://libguides.umn.edu/SearchStrategyChecklist)

This page breaks down the process of conducting a search including; breaking down the topic, identifying search terms, conducting your search, combining terms, and reviewing your results. 

Assignment Calculator (https://www.lib.umn.edu/ac)

The Assignment Calculator breaks down research and writing projects into manageable steps based on your due dates. Each step includes hints and "how-to" links. You can also sign up to get text reminders for each step. 

Find Information

Article Databases

Searching PubMed for Dental Topics A short video tutorial on how to search PubMed with a dental topic example

Drug and Supplement Information

Evidence-Based Practice and Point of Care Resources

ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry

The Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry operates under the advisement of the ADA Council on Scientific Affairs to develop resources that help dentists integrate clinically relevant scientific evidence at the point of care.  

Culturally Appropriate Health Care

A person's culture is multifaceted, and culturally appropriate care requires a holistic approach.  Some important factors include religious fasting holidays, cultural view of mental illness, and family structure. Taken together, knowledge of these factors can support respectful conversations between providers and patients and enhance the health care experience. 

 

EthnoMed (https://ethnomed.org/)

Find information about cultural beliefs, medical issues, and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to the United States. Access relevant information through the Cultural Profiles, Clinical Topics, or multilingual Patient Education sections. 

 

Culture Clues (https://depts.washington.edu/pfes/CultureClues.htm)

Succinct tip sheets for clinicians. They are designed to increase awareness about concepts and preferences of patients from the diverse cultures 

 

HealthReach (https://healthreach.nlm.nih.gov/)

Multilingual, multicultural health information and patient education materials about health conditions and wellness topics. Learn about diseases, causes, symptoms, treatment, and prevention.

Patient Education

MouthHealthy (https://www.mouthhealthy.org/en)

From the American Dental Association, MouthHealthy includes information for patients on dental health topics, nutrition, dental care concerns, and a list of ADA member dentists. 

Managing Citations

Using a citation manager can help you to organize your citations and seamlessly create a bibliography at the end of a research paper or manuscript. You can learn about two of the citations mangers commonly used in the health sciences below.

Mendeley (https://www.mendeley.com/)

Mendeley is a freely available citation manager that allows you to manage your PDFs and create a database of your own citations by importing references or PDFs. Mendeley also has a plug-in for MS Word call Cite-O-Matic which allows you to format papers and bibliographies.

Using Mendeley for the first time? See the videos below to learn about how Mendeley can help you organize your research. You can also view additional guides and tutorials from Mendeley.com.

 

EndNote

EndNote is a computer based, desk-top citation manager that is available for purchase with academic pricing through the University Bookstore.

 

NLM Citation Style

Citing Medicine, 2nd edition (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK7256/)

Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.

Last Updated: Jul 1, 2020 11:57 AM