Start a Research Project

Library Research Checklist 

This page provides a step-by-step description of the process.

Search Strategy Checklist and Tips 

This page breaks down the process of conducting a search including; breaking down the topic, identifying search terms, conducting your search, combining terms, and reviewing your results. 

Assignment Calculator 

The Assignment Calculator breaks down research and writing projects into manageable steps based on your due dates. Each step includes hints and "how-to" links. You can also sign up to get text reminders for each step. 

Find Information

Article Databases

Drug and Supplement Information

Evidence-Based Practice and Point of Care Resources

Culturally Appropriate Health Care

A person's culture is multifaceted, and culturally appropriate care requires a holistic approach.  Some important factors include religious fasting holidays, cultural view of mental illness, and family structure. Taken together, knowledge of these factors can support respectful conversations between providers and patients and enhance the health care experience. 

 

EthnoMed 

Find information about cultural beliefs, medical issues, and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to the United States. Access relevant information through the Cultural Profiles, Clinical Topics, or multilingual Patient Education sections. 

 

Culture Clues 

Succinct tip sheets for clinicians. They are designed to increase awareness about concepts and preferences of patients from the diverse cultures 

Patient Education

MouthHealthy 

From the American Dental Association, MouthHealthy includes information for patients on dental health topics, nutrition, dental care concerns, and a list of ADA member dentists. 

Resources to Educate Your Patients from the National Dental Association (NDA) 

The Dental Education Center, our latest collaboration, offers shareable materials that may help you better communicate with your patients about common dental issues. To utilize these informational pages, click on the corresponding tile below, then download/save the PDF to your computer. From there, open the PDF with the PDF viewer of your choice (i.e. Acrobat Reader) and you will be able to edit the contact fields and print the sheet out.

Managing Citations

Using a citation manager can help you to organize your citations and seamlessly create a bibliography at the end of a research paper or manuscript. You can learn about two of the citations mangers commonly used in the health sciences below.

Zotero 

Zotero is a freely available citation manager that allows you to manage your PDFs and create a database of your own citations by importing references or PDFs. Zotero also has a plug-in for MS Word, LibreOffice, or Google Docs which allows you to format papers and bibliographies. 

Using Zotero for the first time? Create an account and download the desktop application to get started. See the videos and learn about how Zotero can help you organize your research with the Zotero guides and tutorials

 

EndNote

EndNote desktop is a computer based, desk-top citation manager that is available for purchase with academic pricing through the University Bookstore.

 

NLM Citation Style

Citing Medicine, 2nd edition 

Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.

Last Updated: Aug 19, 2021 10:33 AM